We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)

Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)
6, rue Pente Rapide, 84000 Avignon, France
049027500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes) like an insider
Top Rated
$431*
and up
Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV...
Ranked #1 of 61 things to do in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The residence of the soveriegn pontiffs in the 14th century is the largest Gothic Palace in the world. 25 areas to visit : ceremonila halls, chapels, cloister, the Pope's provate apartments with their priceless frescos, as well as a scenographic area, the Musée de l'Oeuvre, wich presents the development and history of the building since it was build. Ranked as UNESCO world heritage.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped through Avignon with work in March and went back again in October. The walls of the city, the bridge and the Palace are beautiful. Be sure to take a walk at night to see everything lite up as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    788
    252
    67
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Victoria
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Les PAPESSES Collection spoilt the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A grand old disused Popes Palace with plenty of history to satisfy most visitors. I felt the current art "display" was not appropriate for the venue. Five legged carcass hanging from the ceiling, a pile of mattresses and a giant spider in my opinion need to be displayed somewhere other than an ex place of worship.
I also felt there needs to be more emphasis on setting up at least two rooms "the way they were" centuries ago with all the appropriate furniture and accessories of the day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
“A place worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was lucky to have a trip to there, when I was in France for a conference. This place is something I will remember ever. The old palace, the Pope's residence, meeting room, highrise kitchen chimney, the big "bell", and other religious antics will make you amazed. Make sure to have a guide, who will explain the history. The Avignon river is a serene place where tourists from all over the world come to visit. To me, it was worth the money to visit the place instead of going to crowded Eiffel Tower!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Okay to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I agree with Rick Steves. The palace is immense with lots of stairs, but is unfurnished. The tour did not add to my trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Interesting - Get The Audioguide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Let's face it, this is one of the reasons you came to Avignon. The Palais des Papes occupies a very unique place in history, wrapped up as it is in the history of the catholic church and Provence. The Audioguide is an absolute must here. I'd have been lost without it. The few signs hanging around, although they have English translations, don't really provide anywhere close to the context you want.

When I went, there was a modern art exhibition going on at the same time. The contrast of exploring the papal palace and coming across a sculpture of a cow with its head wrapped around into its rear-end was visceral. The idea of taking a setting with such elegance and history, and feeling the need to inject it with vulgarity, seems very French. I don't disagree with it, but it wasn't my cup of tea.

Overall, I'm very glad I visited the Palais des Papes, and will definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes) also viewed

 

Been to Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pope's Palace (Palais des Papes), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.