We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, convenient hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Avignon Sud

Save Saved
You added Ibis Avignon Sud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Avignon Sud
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route De Marseille RN7 | Parc Hotelier de La Cristole, 84145 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good, convenient hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is not close to the centre of Avignon, so if you dont have a car, I wouldnt recommend you to use this hotel. We did have a car, as we drove from Switzerland and it was very easy. You will need around 10 mintues to drive to the center of Avignon and if you ask at the hotel they will provide useful information regarding free parking outside of the wall.

The hotel was relatively well cleaned, the first night upon arrival, I found some hairs in the bathroom, but after that they cleaned it better and besides the bathroom the rest was well cleaned. There is not lift, so if you have problems with carrying your luggage up the stairs you might want to reconsider staying here.

The breakfast was ok, there was a variety of pastries, bread, yogurth, cereal, one type of ham/cut meat and two types of cheese, plus several jams and honey. I still thing that for 9 Euro they could have served you something extra, like eggs or other warm option.

The restaurant is called Table and is quite good, a variety of dishes are offered until 10.00 pm and you can tell that people not staying at the hotel go for dinner there too, it was a quite good restaurant, so I would recommend it to you.

Parking was for free, a good advantage, as well as wi-fi.

Ahh, I almost forgot, this hotel has also a pool, so bring your swimsuit if you visit Avignon in summer.

At the end, a good simple hotel, comfortable and in the usual standar of Ibis, if you stayed already in one, you know what to expect, is not luxurious but practical, clean and comfortable.

Pati-chueca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    99
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
92
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

A typical French Ibis Hotel. Very functional, situated on the edge of town. A good place to stop for the night or use as a base for a couple of days. The Hotel offers basic value for money accommodation within easy access of the Avignon town center.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Well appointed hotel, good level of comfort and the restaurant has good pd (yummy tortilla!!) and dinner menus. Located in a Commercial Zone about 4km from Centre Ville, bus stop close by but don't know the service level. Recommendable, good value.

Room Tip: Get a top story room, stayed on GF and shoe noises a nuisance from above rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Coming in Avignon, we came accross Ibis Avignon Sud, route de Marseille.
I am not talking about the other Ibis centre gare. The Ibis Sud is not on tripadvisor but as reviews are important, here it is.
The reception we got made me wish I could turn around and go somewhere else but we were tired and could not be bother searching for another hotel. The receptionist was a man with very little "People Relation Skills". He made us feel very unwelcome, he was not pleasant and we felt we were more of an inconvenience to him. His answer to our questions were very short and abrupt without an extra word to be helpful.
Unfortunately his attitude set up our negative views of the hotel.
Small room but clean, No place for suitaces. Beds small but comfortable. Bathroom could have been cleaner, specifically the bench.
We went out to town for dinner just in case the restaurant had the same attitude but were amazed when we came back late at night to find the restaurant closing staff acknowledging us and wishing us a good night with a smile. From then on it was all positive as the morning receptionist (a young woman) couldn't do enough for us. Very welcoming, helpful and positive attitude. She actually went the extra mile! So, if you get the guy at the reception, don't despair, he is the odd one and don't judge the hotel by him. The Breakfast food was suitable and Breakfast staff nice (this included the friendly receptionist who was juggling both jobs. I would not recommend this hotel for long stay but it is suitable for overnight. Although we did not have dinner at the restaurant, the staff appeared pleasant and the prices were good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel is about 10 minutes far from Avignon city center, in front of a national road and next to a shopping center. For us it was a little bit difficult to find. You need a car to move around (there is a free private parking).
The room is very simple, with nothing more than what's necessary, and quite clean. The bed was very tough and not very comfortable (first night it was almost like sleeping on the floor, but the next nights you get used to it). Good free wifi internet connection in the room.
There is no lift, although the hotel has only two floors.
All in all, not a bad option to explore Avignon and its surroundings, although you can find better options (probably more expensive ones).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Avignon Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Avignon Sud

Address: Route De Marseille RN7 | Parc Hotelier de La Cristole, 84145 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Avignon Sud 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Avignon Sud hotel is 4 km from the city centre and the airport, a few minutes on foot from the Convention Centre and the Pont d.Avignon. In the heart of Provence and the Châteauneuf du Pape vineyards, this air-conditioned hotel has 95 rooms available for booking, a restaurant, a bar with a terrace open 24/24, a swimming pool and free closed parking. A meeting room (70 places) can be booked for seminars and conferences. Wifi broadband Internet access for guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Avignon Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Avignon Sud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Avignon Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.