We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building - excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building - excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in July. The old cloister is tastefully converted, and it has an excellent and quiet location in the historic centre of Avignon. First we got a mezzanine room. The room felt worn down, it was very warm even though there was a A/C. There was a WC at the entrance of the room, before the stairs up to the bed and bathroom. The bathroom had a bathtub and handheld shower, with hardly any pressure, and it was impossible for any person with normal hight to stand upright. I think it is the first time I've complained about a room, but this time we did. After sleeping there one night we were moved to the old part of the hotel, in a cool room. The interior was modern and very modest - quite suitable for an old monastery. The bathroom was large with a shower. The breakfast was good, we had our breakfast outside in the courtyard. the staff was very helpful, they didn't make a fuss about wanting to change rooms, they made restaurant reservations for us, and gave us good advice on what to see in Avignon and the surroundings. There is a pool on the roof. I think I would stay again if we return to Avignon, but will be very specific on what type of room I want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for you great comment about the Cloitre Saint-Louis. We are very delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Avignon. It's a big satisfaction for us, to read your good experience at the hotel, and the restaurant too.
I can see that you prefer the cloister part, and find the modern wing less attractiv. The rooms are situated in 2 wings: the historic wing and the Contemporary Wing. It is modern design and an integral part of the cloister. Our identity and deep personality based undeniably on the alliance of these two styles: the historic character and contemporary through a decoration that we want absolutely sober and refined to keep the true spirit of this time and this classified not distort.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    153
    109
    76
    32
See reviews for
47
252
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a ten day stay at this hotel, so we got to know it pretty well. We had a room which overlooked the courtyard in the old part of the building.
The building itself was fabulous, a real treat to stay in. Tastefully converted into a Hotel but still retaining it's charm and dignity.
The room was clean and very airy, it had an adequate bathroom with a bath and shower, the toilet was separate from the bathroom and only had a cold water tap for the sink.
So far, so good, but you may have noticed that I only gave this Hotel three stars, that's because, out of the ten nights we stayed there, we only had about two nights that were undisturbed. The hotel seems to cater for a very transient clientele, some it seems from the river cruise companies that cruise the Rhone, many of whom are on a completely different time zone to Europe, this means that they are talking on the telephone to the folks back home (or to each other) at any time between midnight and 4 in the morning! They of course should be able to do this, but the echo from the high ceiling coupled with the almost complete lack of soundproofing (especially on the partition door) meant that the conversations were so loud that I found myself joining in! That's the only reason for the poor score.
The restaurant was very good, with charming staff, albeit with a limited menu.

Room Tip: Choose one without a door between rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis for 2 nights while we explored Avignon and it is a good place to stay if you are arriving by TGV as the Navette stop (shuttle from TGV station) is a very short walk away. We stayed in the old monastic part, which I am pleased about as the new modern extension is seriously unattractive to look at and to access - more like an indoor fire escape! Our room was spacious and immaculately clean - it is also fair to say it has a spartan feel but that was what we were expecting as we knew its monastic heritage. The lift is very small but adequate when the hotel is not very busy. Dinner was superb with a lovely view of the lit courtyard and its spectral Plane trees and breakfast adequate. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the hotel overlooking the courtyard but don't expect luxury just comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent there only one night but loved it. Interesting approach in changing a monestry into a hotel
Excelent room in the old part. Great bathroom, good cleanliness, average breakfast. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAB2, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positiv comment, we are very satisfy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Cloitre Saint-Louis. It's very important for us to propose to our guest a very good experience in Avignon.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Var
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are many things seriously odd about this hotel. In summary, a poorly managed and maintained hotel with high prices.Rooms in the ugly new wing are badly designed and maintained (large room but very small bathroom, small shower, no soap dishes, broken shower hose; impossibly small toilet; very dim lighting; no curtains; badly fitting door to terrace; poor sound insulation). The breakfast service on two consecutive mornings was expensive and appalling: cups, hot milk, baguettes and croissants repeatedly running out; cold bacon, cold lumpy scrambled “eggs” and poor coffee; buffet area untidy and dirty. The “bar” was cold and empty and impossible to find someone to serve us. The restaurant was not available to us for dinner, even though it is prominently advertised on their website, due to a business conference. No information was given to us at the time of booking concerning either our need to book the restaurant at that time or the unavailability of the restaurant. Hotel is situated a good 15 minute walk from the Palais des Papes area where the best restaurants seem to be; not ideal in the hot summer or freezing winter weather of Avignon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel set in a former monastery is a real class act. Austere yet warm and friendly. Top class restaurant close to the former court yard. We stayed in the new extension which was anything but in the same style as the cloisters. Very modern architecture. All rooms are reached from a bridge that runs alongside the block of rooms. Haven´t seen this solution anywhere else. Go see for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our last stay in Provence in this amazing historic building which must have served as cloisters at some stage. Rooms are large and despite their modernisation still have a touch of the old character in them.

Other facilities are quite good, and the location is quite convenient with the papal palace about 15 minutes walking distance.

Friendly and courteous staff on every occasion, made our stay comfortable.

We will definitely onside staying there on our next trip to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.