We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our last stay in Provence in this amazing historic building which must have served as cloisters at some stage. Rooms are large and despite their modernisation still have a touch of the old character in them.

Other facilities are quite good, and the location is quite convenient with the papal palace about 15 minutes walking distance.

Friendly and courteous staff on every occasion, made our stay comfortable.

We will definitely onside staying there on our next trip to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    149
    106
    73
    32
See reviews for
45
245
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Generally speaking the hotel is quiet, unique & beautiful (very nice courtyard, restaurant, hallway etc) & is about 10-15 min walk to the Palais des Papes. We got a room on the old side of the building, which was built in the 16th century so in my opinion it's a lot more charming than those on the new side. The room is spacious with window looking down to the courtyard & the furnishing is pretty basic. Shower is not very comfortable to use & there was also black spots on the floor. The hotel's restaurant is surprisingly good & cheap too. During our stay, our aircon was broken that evening & cannot be fixed so we had to sleep with the window open. I also didn't see any other staff beside the receptionist (who helped post my postcards & book our early morning taxi) & those in the restaurant. The hotel seems to be very popular with the Chinese tour groups.

Room Tip: Those on the old side of the building are more charming though if there are not many people staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The decor of my generously-sized room, which overlooked a cloistered courtyard with six magnificent plane trees and a fountain, was a stylish mixture of ancient and modern.
Breakfast and dinner in the beautiful vaulted dining room were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and the location was convenient for everything. If you love ancient buildings, this must be one of the most beautiful hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cloisters and central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel, once a religious setting, is spacious, architecturally splendid and located very close to the train and bus stations, including the TGV shuttle stop. The grounds and cloister are lovely, as is the dining room which appears to be a glassed-in portico. Our room, while dimly lit, was large and the bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom shower was small and usually overflowed. A major drawback is a modern addition. Guests who expect to experience the hotel's atmosphere probably won't find it if they lodge in that section. My husband tried the breakfast which he thought was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The only good things to say about this hotel are it is well located and the breakfast is not bad. Everything else is terrible. Where should i start? Rooms - old, dirty, noisy, poorly decorated, no views etc you get the jist.
Service at the front desk - very poor. Grumpy & unhelpful. Worthy of a 2 star hotel at best.
It feels like a boarding school and not a hotel.
I am pretty open to different standards of hotels but this is probably, for the money paid, the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Most beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooftop pool and sundeck . Lovely grounds and marvellous designer public rooms and bedrooms . The major flaw was a ring of mould round the bath and sprouting mould extensively under the bathroom sink resulting in mouldy smell . Probaly the lack of ventilation in the bathroom was a significant contib utor to that . Such a shame when everything else was spot on .

Room Tip: check rooms for mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We lucked out with a lovely room overlooking the courtyard and magnificent trees. The best part was walking through the balcony of the actual chapel to get to the room. The location could not have been better, just a block away from the central train station and shuttle to the TGV, and right off the main road through Avignon. Service was lacking; cleaning staff seems to keep all the carts etc. in the hallways; reception was a mess when a large party came in. Having breakfast with noisy attendees of a conference heralded by large banners on "schizophrenia today" was less than ideal. Luckily, they stayed in the other wing of the hotel with its laughable "fitness area." The mistral just kicked up so too windy to enjoy the sun deck and sliver of a rooftop pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.