We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel set in History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 69 hotels in Avignon
Bournemouth UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Jewel set in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The decor of my generously-sized room, which overlooked a cloistered courtyard with six magnificent plane trees and a fountain, was a stylish mixture of ancient and modern.
Breakfast and dinner in the beautiful vaulted dining room were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and the location was convenient for everything. If you love ancient buildings, this must be one of the most beautiful hotels anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cloisters and central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    140
    109
    71
    37
See reviews for
41
208
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel, once a religious setting, is spacious, architecturally splendid and located very close to the train and bus stations, including the TGV shuttle stop. The grounds and cloister are lovely, as is the dining room which appears to be a glassed-in portico. Our room, while dimly lit, was large and the bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom shower was small and usually overflowed. A major drawback is a modern addition. Guests who expect to experience the hotel's atmosphere probably won't find it if they lodge in that section. My husband tried the breakfast which he thought was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The only good things to say about this hotel are it is well located and the breakfast is not bad. Everything else is terrible. Where should i start? Rooms - old, dirty, noisy, poorly decorated, no views etc you get the jist.
Service at the front desk - very poor. Grumpy & unhelpful. Worthy of a 2 star hotel at best.
It feels like a boarding school and not a hotel.
I am pretty open to different standards of hotels but this is probably, for the money paid, the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Most beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooftop pool and sundeck . Lovely grounds and marvellous designer public rooms and bedrooms . The major flaw was a ring of mould round the bath and sprouting mould extensively under the bathroom sink resulting in mouldy smell . Probaly the lack of ventilation in the bathroom was a significant contib utor to that . Such a shame when everything else was spot on .

Room Tip: check rooms for mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We lucked out with a lovely room overlooking the courtyard and magnificent trees. The best part was walking through the balcony of the actual chapel to get to the room. The location could not have been better, just a block away from the central train station and shuttle to the TGV, and right off the main road through Avignon. Service was lacking; cleaning staff seems to keep all the carts etc. in the hallways; reception was a mess when a large party came in. Having breakfast with noisy attendees of a conference heralded by large banners on "schizophrenia today" was less than ideal. Luckily, they stayed in the other wing of the hotel with its laughable "fitness area." The mistral just kicked up so too windy to enjoy the sun deck and sliver of a rooftop pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has lost the plot. When we visited fifteen years ago it was glamorous, immaculate, upscale. Now it is tired, downmarket and frankly seems to be on its last legs. The staff were all friendly and tried their best but the management must be in crisis as the restaurant was badly understaffed, the first room I visited 110 grubby, the doors, floors, walls and chairs run down and in places badly worn. This is a magnificent setting and I wouod like to say the food in the restaurant was the one saving grace. But the overall experience was a huge disappointment. This magnificent piece of Avignon architectural history needs a complete rethink, refurb and relaunch. It deserves better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again despite it's gloriously atmospheric cloister with it's bleached Plane Trees and fountain. The old part of the hotel houses long wide corridors suggestive of monastic life and our room was in keeping with this pious frugality. Not a hint of comfort or luxury. The bed was rock hard and we each had a pillow filled with shredded memory foam making a lumpy and uncomfortable affair. The floor was tiled - very practical - and furnishings sparse. The electrics were faulty causing my partner's bedside lamp to sporadically flicker and switch off with a worrying electrical crackle. We reported it and we think the bulb was changed but the problem continued.
The bathroom - oh dear. A slightly rusted shower head surrounded by a rail and curtain. A water flow that pulsed hot and cold when taking a shower. The basin unit (made of some resin material trying to be marble) appeared unfinished, complete with manufacturers sticker on the front of the unit! The underside with all its pipe work etc was proudly on show and It was really unsightly. Other than that a forlorn white plastic chair.Toiletries were spartan but I guess we only ever use the shampoo and shower gel anyhow.

Breakfast a slightly bizarre affair with only two smallish domestic sized kettles providing hot water for all the hotel's breakfast clientele. Much hovering over the boiling kettles (when eventually refilled) to make sure you got a look in. Massively expensive - suggest the excellent boulangerie across the road. Mugs, teapots, cups etc not often replenished. However the baguettes provided were beautiful and I loved the rose petal 'jam' and the lavender honey, but 32 euros for a bit of fruit, bread and jam for two, come on!
The restaurant was out of bounds for two nights we were there due to two conferences. Shame because the dinner was better value than the breakfast. Our window was above the outside restaurant area so we were treated to the cigarette smoke of conference delegates and also kitchen staff at the end of their late shift, plus talking and heated discussions lingering into the late late night.
Roof terrace is quite nice, the pool more of a token pool but welcome after a day on your feet exploring.
Staff were friendly but brisk. Feel of hotel slightly impersonal and lacking warmth. I wouldn't go back again as I know there is better out there and ironically at a more reasonable price, A four star rating really does not guarantee four star facilities or service, that is the confusing world of hotel star accreditation. I think the four stars for this hotel are weighted towards its location and historical interest, not standard of service or accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.