We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis to your Saves list
Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has lost the plot. When we visited fifteen years ago it was glamorous, immaculate, upscale. Now it is tired, downmarket and frankly seems to be on its last legs. The staff were all friendly and tried their best but the management must be in crisis as the restaurant was badly understaffed, the first room I visited 110 grubby, the doors, floors, walls and chairs run down and in places badly worn. This is a magnificent setting and I wouod like to say the food in the restaurant was the one saving grace. But the overall experience was a huge disappointment. This magnificent piece of Avignon architectural history needs a complete rethink, refurb and relaunch. It deserves better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    149
    106
    73
    32
See reviews for
45
245
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I wouldn't stay at this hotel again despite it's gloriously atmospheric cloister with it's bleached Plane Trees and fountain. The old part of the hotel houses long wide corridors suggestive of monastic life and our room was in keeping with this pious frugality. Not a hint of comfort or luxury. The bed was rock hard and we each had a pillow filled with shredded memory foam making a lumpy and uncomfortable affair. The floor was tiled - very practical - and furnishings sparse. The electrics were faulty causing my partner's bedside lamp to sporadically flicker and switch off with a worrying electrical crackle. We reported it and we think the bulb was changed but the problem continued.
The bathroom - oh dear. A slightly rusted shower head surrounded by a rail and curtain. A water flow that pulsed hot and cold when taking a shower. The basin unit (made of some resin material trying to be marble) appeared unfinished, complete with manufacturers sticker on the front of the unit! The underside with all its pipe work etc was proudly on show and It was really unsightly. Other than that a forlorn white plastic chair.Toiletries were spartan but I guess we only ever use the shampoo and shower gel anyhow.

Breakfast a slightly bizarre affair with only two smallish domestic sized kettles providing hot water for all the hotel's breakfast clientele. Much hovering over the boiling kettles (when eventually refilled) to make sure you got a look in. Massively expensive - suggest the excellent boulangerie across the road. Mugs, teapots, cups etc not often replenished. However the baguettes provided were beautiful and I loved the rose petal 'jam' and the lavender honey, but 32 euros for a bit of fruit, bread and jam for two, come on!
The restaurant was out of bounds for two nights we were there due to two conferences. Shame because the dinner was better value than the breakfast. Our window was above the outside restaurant area so we were treated to the cigarette smoke of conference delegates and also kitchen staff at the end of their late shift, plus talking and heated discussions lingering into the late late night.
Roof terrace is quite nice, the pool more of a token pool but welcome after a day on your feet exploring.
Staff were friendly but brisk. Feel of hotel slightly impersonal and lacking warmth. I wouldn't go back again as I know there is better out there and ironically at a more reasonable price, A four star rating really does not guarantee four star facilities or service, that is the confusing world of hotel star accreditation. I think the four stars for this hotel are weighted towards its location and historical interest, not standard of service or accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When you step into this little alley to enter the hotel you do not expect much and then you are impressed! The stone walls are original, the courtyard is big and very quiet. The staff is very friendly, multilingual. The elevator is very small so be aware of that. The toilet area of the room needed some more cleaning and a bit of updating but other than that, you will love this place. We stayed in the old part and stepped back in time. The restaurant is to your left as you walk towards the elevator and it looks very impressive. We did not have time to eat there.

The room was big, modern, furnished sparsely but well. The bathroom had a bathtub and a shower, very modern.
The windows and shutters are very old-school, enormous, and they really protect against the Mistral, you can tell.
The monastery is located in the center of town but it is very quiet.

If you are looking for a place with blasting air conditioning in the Avignon summer, then do not stay here, stay at home. If you want to step back in time and feel part of a cultural experience, then stay at this place!

Room Tip: Stay in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had 5 nights in an Exclusive room in the old part of the building, large comfortable room retaining some of the period features and overlooking the courtyard. Bathroom was adequate, toilet is almost an afterthought, but given the age of the building some restrictions would apply. However, the room became very hot during the evenings leading one to wonder whether the air conditioning was turned off.

We enjoyed several evening meals at the hotel, and for a four star hotel prices were not unreasonable, possibly kept in check by the many nearby bistros and restaurants. I wish I could say the same about the buffet breakfast. For a buffet a very limited choice is on offer, and ranks as one of the worst breakfasts we have had in a hotel in the last 15 years. Cost was16 euros per head and on a value for money perspective is not a good choice. For what was on offer I would have preferred a continental breakfast but that was not available, unless one used room service at 18 euros per head. I would suggest you walk 50 metres from the hotel to the main street, full of cafes, bistros and a top bakery. You will eat better for less.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great location close to shops and transport , rooms in the new wing are average comfortable not a very good design for shower and toilet very cramped .
Staff were pleasant and helpful
Breakfast selection was good and dinner was ok

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meadowvale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel inside the walls of the beautiful old town of Avignon has many things to recommend it; a perfect location, friendly and efficient English-speaking staff, large comfortable rooms, a rooftop pool and a stunning restaurant with medium-priced but high-quality food.
The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the railway and bus stations, 2 minutes from the bustling shopping area, 5 minutes walk from the Palais des Papes and ten minutes from "Le Pont"
The comprehensive breakfast is served in the vaulted-ceilinged restaurant, which allows the option of dining in the garden in good weather. My wife and I spent 6 nights here at the end of August and dined twice in the restaurant, which we loved.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am currently sitting in the worst hotel room I have ever had the misfortune to find myself in. The hosts could learn a thing or two about hospitality. Not so much as a kettle for a cup of coffee or tea. No, they want you to go to the bar and pay 5 euro for the privilege. The toilet is so small, we cannot sit on the seat with the door closed! The wardrobe smells bad. The tiny shelves provided for our clothes fell off when I tried to use them. The room is so narrow, we can barely walk past them to get to our belongings. There is a safe, but it needs a key. This is kept in reception until requested. The pillows on the tiny beds made for midgets are hard as rock and so thin as to be made for hobbits. The air conditioning only works in part of the room where the beds are. The separate bathroom is so small you can't actually dry yourself with a towel in there. You have to step out of the room to do it. Seriously, do yourself a favour, and stay anywhere in the world other than this hotel.
Also the service desk provided information about anything outside the city walls begrudgingly, and vaguely, so we are essentially left to our own devices.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis

Address: 20, rue du Portail Boquier, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Avignon
Avignon Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.