We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Avignon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes to your Saves list
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Jean Vilar, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heart of Avignon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were very pleased with the location. It is right next to the Palais du Papes. There was a Christmas market set upon the square right outside. Staff was friendly and competent. Good value. Spacious room. Everything worked. An economy hotel done right!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    197
    100
    35
    13
See reviews for
58
227
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012.

The location is brilliant - right next to the Palace of the Popes in the heart of Avignon.

Room was a good size, with free wi-fi a decent television and good bathroom. All floors are serviced by a lift.

Breakfast provided was excellent with a large selection to choose from.

We found the staff to be helpful and polite.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business due to it's proximity to the Palais du Papes. Hotel is aged and could do with refurb, but location was excellent and the staff were superb. Nothing was a problem. Breakfast good, didnt eat in the restaurant for dinner so can't comment on that. All in all a good stay in an average hotel. Perfectly suited if you intend to use it as a base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure Cite des Papes for 3 nights in November. The room was very comfortable and clean (and large compared to most hotels we've found in France) and the location is excellent. Staff are very friendly and the hotel has a nice lobby and restaurant. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey (13 euros), but offers a wide selection of food (bread, pastry, pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, granola, yogurt, cheese, cold meat etc) that is sure to please everyone in your group.

Room Tip: Please note that the lower two or three floors are "smoking floors," but have some non-smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our whirl-wind train tour in May 2012. The hotel is right next to the ancient Palais des Papes and we had a nice view of it through our window. The hotel is modern, well laid out and the room was very clean from beginning to end (despite our best efforts). The staff was great and very helpful with advice, suggestions and directions. The shuttle bus from the train station was easy and cheap, although there is a 10 minute walk from the bus stop – just inside the City wall - to the hotel itself. The location is what made it though. The town square is just outside the door, the old section with cobble streets and shops is a few minutes away; and the walk down to the river (and across it by the bridge) or up the hill to the park and the view can be made by any one of 5 or 6 different routes from the hotel. A great place that we will go back to.

Room Tip: Look to the rooms that overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here with a Gate1 tour and had requested a quiet room. My 2nd floor room in the back was small but adequate, clean, with a comfortable bed, and WAS QUIET. There was a pretty good breakfast with many choices available. The room had not yet been remodeled, but was perfectly okay. The free Wifi was appreciated.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I am Avignon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice rooms, comfortable and modern.
We especially enjoyed the positive, friendly attitude of the staff - first, they decided to upgrade us with no extra costs due to our Honeymoon, and were so cute about it, keeping it a surprised.
Second and more importantly - an extremely nice guy name Yoan in the front desk really helped us with his personal suggestions for restaurants and when to visit the Papes Palace. He actually "upgraded" our Avignon experience :)
Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#12 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Novotel Avignon Centre
#9 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Avignon - Palais Des Papes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#2 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#21 of 69 in Avignon
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes

Address: 1 rue Jean Vilar, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location in the heart of the city. The Mercure Cite des Papes is situated on the Place d Horloge square, the vibrant centre of the old city with its theatre and numerous cafes. Close by is the Palais des Papes, or Palace of the Popes, incorporating the International Convention Centre. 89 comfortable rooms. All in all, this hotel is the ideal place to discover the charms of the city and make the most of your visit to Avignon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Avignon Cite Des Papes Hotel Avignon
Accor Avignon Cite Des Papes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.