We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Bedon

Le Petit Bedon
70 rue Joseph Vernet, Avignon, France
04.90.82.33.98
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 405 Restaurants in Avignon
Price range: $26 - $60
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: phone 04 90 82 33 98
York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was recommended by our hotel for our group. Slight problem in that it changed hands between booking and actually going, resulting in the booking getting lost, but luckily we checked ahead and all problems overcome! We were in upstairs room which they use for groups, very nice. Chose in advance special set meal including wine and coffee, enjoyed by all, good service. Would go again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worst service of my life - stuck in the tourist ghetto”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have no idea how the food is - after two hours of waiting, we didn't get very much. Despite having reserved for a Saturday dinner, we were seated upstairs in what was apparently the "tourist ghetto" - very little French was being spoken. All of the French customers with reservations seemed to be seated downstairs. The menu sounded really good if a little pricy but my first clue should have been when it took over 30 minutes just to order the meal. After an hour and a half, the starters finally started showing up for the tables in this upstairs room. Our starters were OK, even warm, but nothing special. We noticed that none of the other tables upstairs had received main courses even as we finished our starters. The waiter was (reluctantly) apologetic and said he was waiting on the kitchen. Curious, I checked downstairs, where all of the customers had received or finished their main courses. At that point, none of the upstairs customers had yet received a main course (after 2 hours plus) and ultimately we joined a mass departure of almost all of the upstairs customers. I have no idea why this service was so bad and the staff made no attempt to explain the problem. I was ready to just walk out, but my wife insisted on paying for the wine (which we mostly didn't drink) and starters. So we spent 50 Euros and left very hungry. Too many better choices in Avignon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The food and service were grand! I went with 2 friends and it was a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great personable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The best meals we've had while in Provence; we paid 85 Euros for three people

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious but slightly pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I met a lovely Swedish elderly couple during our day trip around Provence. After sharing with them our unfortunate experience with food at Place d'Horloge, they recommended this restaurant to us.

Indeed it tasted lovely - 36 euros for a 3 course meal, and the house red was nice too. However the portions were slightly on the small side, and for this price I wasn't completely full by the end of the meal, though getting tipsy on the wine helped me forgot this!

The service was good; the manager was having fun chatting with a table of American tourists, and our waitress spoke perfect English.

The decor of the restaurant was sweet - many interesting trinkets, framed paintings, elegant lampshades and a funny wooden elephant on one of the tables.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Bedon also viewed

 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Petit Bedon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Bedon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.