We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuisine du Dimanche

La Cuisine du Dimanche
31 Rue Bonneterie, Avignon, France
0490829910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 405 Restaurants in Avignon
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Authentic and greedyIn the room or on the terrace of "La Cuisine du Dimanche" you will be welcomed in a warm and family atmosphere. "À la carte", we discover authentic flavours with dishes of seasons and products any right(law) come from the market, a " cooking(kitchen) of return of the Halle " as specifies Marie, the queen of the small simmered (plotted) dishes.
Avignon, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food was delicious and the main courses were absolutely wonderful. We had a really good new year's eve ! very efficient service, very nice toilets :p. we were very pleasantly surprised !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    38
    12
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fun night with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After spending five weeks travelling with our children, we took advantage of our one child-free night to try this restaurant and had a lovely night celebrating our anniversary.
I started with the violet champagne aperitif which was zingy and delicious, while my husband enjoyed the cherry and almond wine. Our food was delicious and interesting, possibly the best we had in France (although we didn't go to as many nice places as we would have if we weren't with our children). The servings were very big, which meant that we couldn't attempt dessert, but the two courses we each had were delicious. The waiter/ owner was good fun and the space is quirky and comfortable. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Restaurant with a Unique ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found this small restaurant walking through the streets of Avignon. It turned our to be one of the best restaurants in the city. The food, service, and wine made for a great experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious food in a great space!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I happened on this space earlier in the day and decided to delay our dinner plans until this restaurant was open... I am so glad we did. The food was delicious and the service was spectacular. They were kind enough to assist us with a wine selection and were patient enough that we stayed course after course! Highly recommended - warm atmosphere, the chef comes to your table to discuss the meal and the food is awesome!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best of eating ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This small, quirky restaurant provided one of my best eating experiences in France. I suspect I am remembering especially the wonderfully garlicky tapenade (the best of several interesting amuse-bouches) and the soupe au pistou, which was full of wonderful flavours and bursting with fresh herbs. The daube was rich and flavoursome, though the polenta served with it would have benefitted from being crisped in oil. I was here with a large group - I suspect the one mentioned in the last review - and the restaurant became very hot; they could do with at least a fan to move the air around. The restaurant is housed in a long room full of arches and interesting corners, decorated with sufficient number of objects to suggest a glass shop. The chef is passionate about her cooking and keen to share her enthusiasm, and the young staff coped admirably with the number of diners (we filled the restaurant). We enjoyed the house wine - and loved the aperos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine du Dimanche also viewed

 

Been to La Cuisine du Dimanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuisine du Dimanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.