We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Violette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Violette
Save
You added La Violette to your Saves list
26 avenue de la Violette, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very beautiful holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful garden, big swimming pool and very refinement decorative in every room.
all things are just like what we saw in the movie or in the dream.
locate in a calm corner residential, only 10 minute to the centre train station in avignon,
close to several supermarket and bakery.
quitelly enjoy this personal holiday such like a family vacation !!

Room Tip: There are 3 twin room and 2 single room in the house, if you are balcon lover, try to ask the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went to London, Brussel, Amsterdom, Swiss, Firenze, France (7 cities) in 2012 Apirl to May. La Violette is my favorite B&B in this trip, It's very clean, comfortable room, private bathroom, and very rich brackfast, the hostess very nice and cordial, because her suggest and introduce than we had a unforgettable in Avignon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I totally agree with all the reviews below especially the one of 'playaguya'. That is what I experienced while staying at La Violette. This is the place where you can feel like home. The house itself, the garden, the room, the balcony are so much characteristic. More important than that it is the great hospitality of Isabelle, Jean-Bernard and the children who are so kind and treat the guests like friends or relatives who come for a visit.
One of the highlights is the generous and lovely breakfast as Isabelle mentioned breakfast is the most important meal. Many kinds of bread, fresh orange juice, hot chocolate, eggs are all served in a homely decorated set. The rooms are pretty and yes the bathroom is very clean.
I don't mind the location which is outside the Avignon wall. Actually this is a plus as it is near to the train and the bus station. This makes the place a very good base as you will need to get to the bus station early to take a bus to other villages nearby. And as it is in a residential area it makes you feel more like a person who lives there rather than a tourist and it is just a short walk from the town anyway (I walked pass some hotels on the main road of Avignon which looked quite dull and felt lucky I stayed at La Violette.).

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a delightful stay we had at La Violette during the last 4 nights of April. And I am not going to hold back - It was as close to perfect as we have ever had. In fact, we stayed in 8 different spots (7 b&bs and an apartment) during our month-long travels through Spain and France, and in retrospect, La Violette was easily the highlight of them all. Have you ever stayed at a place in which live classical music wafted through the halls? How about being served a lovely flower-filled basket of fruits, breads, jams, eggs, and coffee on a sun-dappled terrace each morning? What about being picked up at the train station on your arrival, then brought back again for your departure? To have experienced each of these is something rare, but to have experienced all of them in one spot is incredible.

We owe all of this to our talented, artistic, energetic, athletic, and charismatic Isabelle, to her partner Jean-Bernard (I think that's right. Apologies if I forgot), and to their wonderful and wonderfully talented children. Merci mille fois to the whole family - We certainly hope to return one day.

Practical observations: Bathroom very clean (as were all the rooms), ample space. Very comfy beds and bedroom. Coffee-maker and small fridge in room too. (Very handy!) La Violette is a short walk outside the Avignon walls, which I consider a plus. Nice to come "home" to such a quiet spot after the energy spent sightseeing. Very close to the local train and bus stations too. You will likely want to do a couple of day trips, and there are some great choices.

I have posted many reviews here on TA, but for the first time, I am going to submit photos. It is not letting me load more than three (?!), so these are my choices. I hope they will in some small way give you a glimpse into this wonderful world of La Violette. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wijhe
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have enjoyed a very pleasant stay at La Violetta in October. It is excellently situated near the old town, the train- and busstation. Thanks to th e nice weather we were able to enjoy the swimmingpool and the bicycles, which were kindly made available by the hostess. We welcomed her advice on cultural and architectural places of interest and saw the nicest palces and musea in and outside Avignon. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our visit to La Violette was our first to a B&B and I'm afraid we are now spoiled forever. Our lovely hostess, Isabelle, is charming and very knowledgeable about Avignon and the surrounding area. She told us of Avignon's history and shared with us things to see and do (and what to avoid) including visits to towns a short bus/train ride away. She supplied maps and brochures and made helpful restaurant/cafe recommendations. Also important was our lovely room with a balcony with views of the garden that we used every morning and evening and the delicious and hearty breakfast delivered to our room. We very much enjoyed our stay with Isabelle and recommend La Violette highly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The rooms are beautiful; the garden is peaceful; the house feels a real home from home, and is only a few minutes walk to the old town and to the train/bus station. Breakfast is brought to your room on a tray and is to die for. Your hostess -Isabelle- is just fantastic. She took time to tell us all about Avignon- sites, restaurants, cafes, bars- and gave us relevant maps. She suggested various trips- Arle (excellent lunch at Fad 'Oli), L'Isle sur la Sorgue (antiques and the best chocolate ice cream)- and was spot on with all of them. She walked us to the difficult to find shops, and took us to the local market, and generally made sure that we were looked after.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Violette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Violette

Address: 26 avenue de la Violette, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Violette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.