We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms in motel style bungalows, you need to have car.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristol to your Saves list
Hotel Cristol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de la Cristole, 84140 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent rooms in motel style bungalows, you need to have car.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel is not in town centre but has car parking which is why we chose it.
If you're here for a weekend without a car, I would not recommend it.
We were stopping by Avignon as part of a road trip, and the drive into town was only about 10mins and you then park at one of the various town centre parkings (not cheap though!). The good thing about the hotel's location is that it is on the route to Provence's lavender fields from Avignon.
Compared to other places in small French towns, the price doesn't seem that cheap but that was the most reasonable we could find for Avignon.
Didn't have breakfast there, we checked in late (reception open up til 11pm) and left in the morning next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
28
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Church Hill, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel staff was fantastic. The rooms were a little dated but nice. It was just too far from the city to get a better rating. By the time you pay for a cab (buses only run in certain hours) back and forth from the city, it would have been just as expensive to stay closer. If you plan on staying at this hotel, it will be worth your while to rent a car.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our sixth Hotel stay on a round the World holiday. At first we were dumped in a field thanks to the TomTom GPS, part of the Renault car we had leased. We got back on a main road and followed hoardings advertising the hotel. We drove in to find the place was a really a holiday village made up of small appartments around a nicely kept grassed and tree'd area. The receptionist was very helpful and we were in the room very quickly. It was clean and tidy, the shower and toilet was a bit antiquated but adequate for the price we paid. There are one or two fast food outlets within walking distance, but most close early, so evenings you are stuck with Macca's.
For an over-night stay it was great and in those circumstances I'd recommend it, however food being a consideration, any longer and I'd definitely say no.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel was really great; friendly staff, clean rooms, free wifi and quiet, but without a car, it is really far from the city. We didn't rent a car and should have done a little more research about the location. A positive is it is right on a bus line (#3, you can board this bus at either the "Thiers" or "Gerfauts" stops, but remember to flag down the bus, they don't just stop when they see you standing there...the stop you want for the hotel is "Bon Vent" it was about a 15 min bus ride), downside to this is that the bus stops running at 9pm on weekdays except Friday. If you are planning to see any of the nightlife in Avignon, either rent a car or stay at a hotel inside the wall, unless you have the extra cash to take a taxi, but if that were the case, you might as well spend the 20 euros on a hotel closer to the city. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the location was just a little bit out of the way for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good room set up, great for families with kids, nice grassy area for kids to run and play, wonderful staff. Cons: not as clean as it could be, dingy smell, far from town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Interesting city to visit. Make sure to visit Gordes. It was the highlight of this area. Aix-en-Provence was boring. Nimes had good ruins.

Room Tip: Too far from Avignon. We used the hotel for day trips to the countryside after our river cruise ende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I'm writing this from the hotel because Hotel Cristol's high rating on tripadvisor (currently 6/60 in Avignon) could be misleading. Firstly, the good points: it is cheap, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The major downside is that it is a long way and a 14 Euro taxi ride from the centre of town. It is essentially an American-style motel in an industrial area, so don't imagine as you might from reading the description that it is an old provencale farmhouse with a beautiful garden. Breakfast is nothing special and the wifi is very slow: too slow to stream BBC radio player, for example, even at low bandwidth. The airport is closeby, but I would not recommend it for a holiday unless you are coming by car.

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden at back much better than rooms facing car park. Possible to see straight in thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristol

Address: Chemin de la Cristole, 84140 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cristol 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance of Avignon and easy access, our hotel. The rooms were renovated in 2013, they have flat screens, parquet and duvets. All our rooms are equipped with full bathrooms with bath, private toilet and direct dial telephone. Our hotel is entirely air-conditioned. All rooms have access to a private garden. Free and unlimited Wifi access in all rooms. At your disposal a private parking, gated parking inside the hotel. Breakfast is served in the form of a large buffet, from 7 am to noon on the shaded terrace or inside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.