We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but too far from the city without a car.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristol to your Saves list
Hotel Cristol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin de la Cristole, 84140 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but too far from the city without a car.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel was really great; friendly staff, clean rooms, free wifi and quiet, but without a car, it is really far from the city. We didn't rent a car and should have done a little more research about the location. A positive is it is right on a bus line (#3, you can board this bus at either the "Thiers" or "Gerfauts" stops, but remember to flag down the bus, they don't just stop when they see you standing there...the stop you want for the hotel is "Bon Vent" it was about a 15 min bus ride), downside to this is that the bus stops running at 9pm on weekdays except Friday. If you are planning to see any of the nightlife in Avignon, either rent a car or stay at a hotel inside the wall, unless you have the extra cash to take a taxi, but if that were the case, you might as well spend the 20 euros on a hotel closer to the city. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the location was just a little bit out of the way for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
29
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good room set up, great for families with kids, nice grassy area for kids to run and play, wonderful staff. Cons: not as clean as it could be, dingy smell, far from town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Interesting city to visit. Make sure to visit Gordes. It was the highlight of this area. Aix-en-Provence was boring. Nimes had good ruins.

Room Tip: Too far from Avignon. We used the hotel for day trips to the countryside after our river cruise ende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I'm writing this from the hotel because Hotel Cristol's high rating on tripadvisor (currently 6/60 in Avignon) could be misleading. Firstly, the good points: it is cheap, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The major downside is that it is a long way and a 14 Euro taxi ride from the centre of town. It is essentially an American-style motel in an industrial area, so don't imagine as you might from reading the description that it is an old provencale farmhouse with a beautiful garden. Breakfast is nothing special and the wifi is very slow: too slow to stream BBC radio player, for example, even at low bandwidth. The airport is closeby, but I would not recommend it for a holiday unless you are coming by car.

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden at back much better than rooms facing car park. Possible to see straight in thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just as the reviews promised! This very quaint little place is a great value. My family (wife, 2 toddlers, and me) stayed in a "family room" in the low-season (mid September). The room was essentially the bedroom with a queen-sized bed, a small bathroom, and then a loft with a double bed which was accessed by an ~8 foot ladder/stairs. The rooms are pretty small, even by European standards. For example, the door to the bathroom cannot open if the ladder is installed (it hinged up against the wall), so you have a choice of ladder or bathroom at any given time! However, what the room lacked in space, the hotel made up for in cleanliness and friendliness! The reception staff (I wish I got her name) was a real gem! She was very helpful with all of our questions. As mentioned, the hotel is situated a short 5-10 min. drive directly to the heart of Avignon. It's located in a large commercial area, with plenty of restaurants, "big box" stores, and a small "mall" right nearby. It's a fine area for families. I should mention, the 6.50 EUR breakfast was OK--it was "continental-style" offerings (breads, cereals, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc....), but no fruit. A minor complaint for a 2-star hotel. In general, I'd definitely stay here again. If you're looking for a basic place, and a GREAT deal, then this is it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have booked a room at Hotel Cristol through booking.com based on positive reviews we have seen for the hotel on trip advisor. As usual, when we reach the place, we insist on seeing the room. The room was smelly, dirty and had insects crawling around the place. I am not an etymologist so cannot relly be sure what genre this was, however we were not inclined to stay. We informed the staff that we do not intend to stay because of the reasons above. A dark haired lady at the reception, who claimed to be the owner, went into a stage of total fury and said that we would be charged for one night. When we said that we will not pay, she shouted at us, told us to shut up repeatedly, threatened us with police and said that we would be charged anyway because this was France and she was in charge. We declined and rapidly left Hotel Cristol. We are travelling in France for ten days now and this was the worst experience to date. Please stay away! You have been warned!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, CO
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We chose the Hotel Cristol due to other TripAdvisor reviews. We concur! The hotel, similar to what used to be called a motor hotel in the US was 5 minutes driving from Avignon (in a commercial district), and offered spotlessly clean rooms, nice garden areas, fast WiFi, and a more than adequate breakfast - all at a reasonable rate. The staff recommended two excellent restaurants in Avignon - locals places that were very good. We would recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristol

Address: Chemin de la Cristole, 84140 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cristol 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the entrance of Avignon and easy access, our hotel. The rooms were renovated in 2013, they have flat screens, parquet and duvets. All our rooms are equipped with full bathrooms with bath, private toilet and direct dial telephone. Our hotel is entirely air-conditioned. All rooms have access to a private garden. Free and unlimited Wifi access in all rooms. At your disposal a private parking, gated parking inside the hotel. Breakfast is served in the form of a large buffet, from 7 am to noon on the shaded terrace or inside ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.