We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Rhodes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Domaine de Rhodes to your Saves list
Domaine de Rhodes
486 chemin de Rhodes | La Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location is great. You are in the peaceful countryside while being 10 minutes to the centre of Avignon. The rooms are large, comfortable and stylish. Francoise and Paco are helpful and great hosts. The breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
223
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Francoise and Paco have turned a charming Provence farmhouse into a wonderful French Chateau. Staying here was one of our favorite experiences of our vacation in the south of France. The hosts are accommodating and friendly and the rooms and common areas of the house are comfortable, spacious and filled with furniture and art that is beautiful and timeless. The location is great for exploring Provence, although a car is a requirement as it is a 5 minute drive from town. The breakfasts were excellent, consisting of local food and good conversation with the other guests. A good value for what you get. We wished we had more time to spend just relaxing in this great space!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were very happy with every aspect of this chamber d'hôtel . The location was great for seeing Avignon and all the surrounding sites in Provence. The owners take great pride in their hotel and providing great service. We definitely recommend staying there.
Take the wine tour from David, it is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Avignon in and itself is a fairy tale type of place to visit in the south of France. Our objective was to meander from Burgundy to Provence to Nice to the Italian Riviera by car over a 3.5 week period. Our stop at Domaine de Rhodes exceeded our expectations completely! Located just minutes away from the medieval walled city of Avignon, the farmhouse and other connected buildings are situated in the middle of several acres of open fields and wooded glens. The rooms ooze a historical past yet are very cozy, clean and well appointed (not to mention quite spacious!) Each morning was a delightful time to visit with Francoise and Paco over breakfast and they were quite earnest in learning the interests of all their guests and making helpful suggestions for day excursions. Our interest was ancient Roman ruins and wine tasting and there was plenty of each to explore within an hours circumference of Avignon. Wow....
Its been 15 months since we were there last--my review is overdue but I find myself dreaming of returning and hence, I am writing this to say---"see you soon!" We were actually there in September of 2011...the weather was EXQUISITE--and post tourist high season. Delightful!
Merci Francoise & Paco: Merci for such a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Our room was a 2 story one--large bathroom and sitting room upstairs, connected by a circular, windi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Françoise L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Rhodes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.
We try to suggest to our guests on excursions possible according to their feeling
The region is very rich in discoveries (wine, archeology, history, landscape ....).
We hope to see you again if you return to the area for wine tastings other example (wine rose Tavel, wine from Languedoc Pic St Loup, wine sands in Aigues Mortes ....)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were probably the only guests there since it was low season. The apartment we stayed was name Cezanne, spacious and nicely decorated. A nicely arranged bouquet of flowers were waiting for us when arrived, which made us immediately feel at home. The owner offered to bring us back breakfast the next morning since we were new to town. Coffee was high quality, cheese was yummy and creamy, eggs were free ranged and fresh and milk was sweet. We could not appreciate more. We loved the stay here and will definitely stay again when coming back to South Fance.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Françoise L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Rhodes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.
We decorated the apartment so that you can feel like home.
You noticed and we are delighted.
We hope to see you again if you return to the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Domaine de Rhodes in July 2012 and found it to be the most wonderful place. The hosts Francoise and Paco were outstanding with their knowledge and they recommended 2 wonderful places to eat, one place in Avignon and one in a local villiage. I loved the fact that this place was out in the country as it felt like an authentic French residence and was oozing charm and character.

Thanks Francoise and Paco for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Françoise L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Rhodes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us we really appreciate your kind comments.
We are pleased to be able to help you in the choice of restaurants.
We try to do share French culture.
Thank you for having been sensitive.
We hope to see you again if you return to the region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights during our honeymoon. Our room was gorgeous! Pink tones all over with 19th and early 20th century touches. The bed was comfortable, the views were lovely and the service was excellent. Breakfast is great and the owners are very warm and friendly. Also, the location is excellent for exploring Provance. I love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Rhodes

Address: 486 chemin de Rhodes | La Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of Avignon's city walls, the île de la Barthelasse is a haven of peace, greenery and freshness. Here in the shade of hundred year old plane tees, in the heart of 1 hectare of grounds, Domaine de Rhodes, a farmer 16th century hunting lodge, offers several choices of accomodations for your stay in the region: for a night, a week-end or week. We propose you: guest houses of charm been looked after, character and authenticity. Cottages which will remind you Provence of former days. An apartment sophisticated and decorated carefully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Domaine de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Rhodes Hotel Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine de Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.