We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice couple with comfortable apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine de Rhodes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Domaine de Rhodes to your Saves list
Domaine de Rhodes
486 chemin de Rhodes | La Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Avignon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super nice couple with comfortable apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were probably the only guests there since it was low season. The apartment we stayed was name Cezanne, spacious and nicely decorated. A nicely arranged bouquet of flowers were waiting for us when arrived, which made us immediately feel at home. The owner offered to bring us back breakfast the next morning since we were new to town. Coffee was high quality, cheese was yummy and creamy, eggs were free ranged and fresh and milk was sweet. We could not appreciate more. We loved the stay here and will definitely stay again when coming back to South Fance.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Xiafei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Françoise L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Rhodes, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us, we really appreciate your kind comments.
We decorated the apartment so that you can feel like home.
You noticed and we are delighted.
We hope to see you again if you return to the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Domaine de Rhodes in July 2012 and found it to be the most wonderful place. The hosts Francoise and Paco were outstanding with their knowledge and they recommended 2 wonderful places to eat, one place in Avignon and one in a local villiage. I loved the fact that this place was out in the country as it felt like an authentic French residence and was oozing charm and character.

Thanks Francoise and Paco for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cromie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Françoise L, Propriétaire at Domaine de Rhodes, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to add a review after your stay with us we really appreciate your kind comments.
We are pleased to be able to help you in the choice of restaurants.
We try to do share French culture.
Thank you for having been sensitive.
We hope to see you again if you return to the region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights during our honeymoon. Our room was gorgeous! Pink tones all over with 19th and early 20th century touches. The bed was comfortable, the views were lovely and the service was excellent. Breakfast is great and the owners are very warm and friendly. Also, the location is excellent for exploring Provance. I love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay, but it was not what I was seeking. Most of the folks staying there really loved it. Some were returning guests. The house is filled with antiques. The rooms are quaint. The owners are extremely helpful. Breakfasts are excellent.

What didn't I like? I would have preferred an in-town hotel. The hotel is ten minutes or so outside of Avignon. It is a mildly confusing ride back and forth, and parking in Avignon isn't always convenient.

Although atniques are quaint, I did not prefer the footed bathtub and old-style fixtures. Give me a modern bathroom anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichabod777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed five nights in late August and had a very enjoyable time. Totally agreed with all the positive feedback from other travelers. Would like to highlight the following:

1. Breakfasts - were the highlight of our stay. We got to meet other travelers and exchanged stories. Francoise and Paco participated in these conversations which made it much more fun. They provided local knowledge of places to visit and restaurants to eat which were very valuable.

We really missed the interaction with our friendly hosts and other guests in the remaining of our trip around Europe.

2. Kitchen - well equipped. The kitchen/outdoor dining area was a pleasant setting. If you don't want to go out for dinner after a hectic day, facilities do allow you to make a simple meal. We enjoyed many meals there, sipping a glass of wine and watching the gentle sun filtered through the trees.

3. Warm and friendly hosts - Francoise and Paco will go the extra miles to make guests feel at home and have a good holiday. During our stay, one couple missed their train because the booked taxi did not turn up. Paco actually drove them to the Avignon train station for the next one. It is rare to get such high & professional standard of service now days!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was perfect. My husband and I spent 5 nights in one of the cottages on the property. It is in a great location. It's only a short drive into Avignon but far enough outside the city that you really felt like you were in the French Countryside. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful when we asked for suggestions on where to go. Breakfast was delicious with locally grown fruit and homemade yogurt. This is the perfect place to use as your home base if you plan to do short day trips in the surrounding area. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Try staying in one of the cottages on the property. We enjoyed the privacy, coziness and the added f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yfklun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for only one night with Francoise and Paco the end of September. Oh, how we regretted leaving! It was our first stop on a whirlwind tour of Southern France and were anxious to experience a variety of lodgings. But in retrospect, the Domaine de Rhodes was the best of them all. Every aspect of the farmhouse was so charming and well appointed, the inviting leather sofas in the living room, elegant breakfast in the formal dining room, very spacious Mistral room with loft that accomodates another bed, the fine linens and L'Occitaine products, noteworthy architectural details and objets d'art. I could go on and on. But perhaps the most important aspect of our stay was the warmth and charm of Francoise and Paco. They are professionals who attend to every detail but are relaxed, genuine and seem to really enjoy their guests. The evening of our arrival we were immediately at ease and enjoyed conversing with them and other guests who shared local wines, baguette, tapenade and travel stories. By morning we all felt like friends sitting around the exquisitely set breakfast table. All of Francoise and Paco's suggestions were spot on, especially their tip about going to Uzes. Upon departure we received a lovely souvenir and a sampling of L'Occitaine products. It is in a rural area but with our smartphone and the prominent Domaine de Rhodes signs along the road we had no trouble finding it. If you are looking for a quintessential Provencal experience this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schwaljeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avignon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
2.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#13 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
Novotel Avignon Centre
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Bastide des Anges
La Bastide des Anges
#3 of 57 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Rhodes

Address: 486 chemin de Rhodes | La Barthelasse, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the wall of the city, in the shade of centuries-old plane trees, the 16th century guesthouse is an oasis of peace and greenery. Accomodation : 5 rooms with shower or/and bath, a large living-room with fireplace, piano and library dedicated to guests, a 1 hectare park and a sunny swimming pool,out of sight. The hosts provide lovely generous breakfasts. Situation :on theBarthelasse Island, less than 10 minutes by car from the center city, less than 5 minutes from a free parking. With shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Rhodes Hotel Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#