We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Square B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cote Square B&B
8 rue du Crucifix, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 Avignon B&B and Inns
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Can't say enough wonderful things about Cote Square that haven't already been said. Just have to confirm what everyone else is gushing about. Besides being a great location to explore the region, the hostess, Veronique, is so friendly, energetic & full of helpful suggestions of where to go & what to see. Her breakfasts were consistently delicious with homemade yogurt, jams, honey & selection of fresh baked goods. Always good conversation at the breakfast table. Room was spotless & bed so comfortable. So nice to have a garage for the car. We were planning on staying 2 nights but had the flexibility & pleasure of stretching it to 3. Veronique & Frederic were kind enough to juggle a thing or two so we didn't have to move rooms! The location was fantastic for walking around the walled city & a cute little park literally next door to stroll through as you explore the town. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger room - Ibis Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Veronique is truly a wonderful hostess. I felt as if I was staying with a family member of close friend. Every morning we had a wonderful breakfast of homemade yogurt and preserves, as well as fresh bakery goods, and fresh fruit. Veronique would join us for breakfast and giver us recommendations for our days activities, her favorite restaurants in the area, etc.. We ate at the best places in Avignon due to her recommendations (check out Coin Cache for a great meal on a lovely square. The room was spotless and decorate in a modern way. The location, as people have said is perfect for exploring Avignon. We only stayed 2 nights, but I wish it had been longer, so we could enjoy visiting with Veronique and her great breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Veronique is a lovely person and great hostess. Very bubbly, friendly and helpful. Her homemade yogurt and preserves were really good. Fresh fruit salad and oj. Plus croissants and a selection of other breads from the local bakery. The location is a little hidden away which is nice for a city with 13,000 people inside its walls. Just a few blocks away from the Tourist Information office and Avignon is very walkable. We liked Place du Corps Saints for a less crowded place for lunch or dinner. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently spent three nights at Cote Square B&B and we couldn't fault it. Veronique and Frederic are very friendly and helpful and are perfect hosts! They will provide advice on where to go and what to do. The location of the B&B is ideal, it is just inside the walls and is walking distance to everywhere you would want to go in Avignon. There are a lot of one way streets in Avignon so it can be a bit tricky to drive around but if you follow Veroniques instructions you won't have a problem finding the place. There is a parking garage at the bottom of the town house which is a huge bonus. We stayed in the Turquin room which was small but perfectly formed, there is an extremely comfortable double bed, toilet, hand basin and walk in shower, there is also the added bonus of patio doors out onto the terrace. The whole house is decorated beautifully. Breakfast is very nice and is great way to get chatting to the other guests as well, Veroniques homemade yoghurt was delicious! All in all Cote Square made our stay in Avignon perfect and I don't think there is any point looking elsewhere!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This comfortable B&B right in the heart of Avignon was the perfect base for us as we explored the old town over the course of several days. It is set in a newly-renovated townhouse, with entry foyer and enclosed garage on the ground floor, guest rooms one floor up, and the family’s home on the floor above.
We took the two rooms that open onto the terrace, each with en-suite bathrooms. The rooms were large, bright, clean and cheerfully furnished, with fluffy towels and quality soaps. The free wifi worked well and was quite fast, which is not always the case in France. The airy terrace was a great spot to relax and chat throughout the day. This is also where breakfast was laid out each morning.
The owners Veronique and Frederic were generous with their time, coffee and delicious breakfast spread, and provided great recommendations on where to eat or what to see, both in Avignon and the surrounding region.
The townhouse is next to a small public park that has a small playground, and is close to the centre of the old walled city. Everything is within walking distance, including the papal palace and other attractions in Avignon. There is also a small convenience store around the corner on rue des Lices, which surprisingly charged less than some supermarkets.
Free and secure parking for our car was just the icing on the cake – other places would have charged at least ten euros for that alone. If you are driving, make sure you follow Veronique’s instructions on how to get there, rather than relying on your GPS. The streets are mainly one-way, and the GPS will have you running in circles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I don't write many Trip advisor reviews, but sometimes circumstances insist you do!
Cote Square was one of these.
There are 10 reasons why you don't bother to look elsewhere in Avignon
1) Its exceptionally clean
2) Location is exceptional and is inside the Wall
3) fairly easy to find
4) Sensational hosts who will refer and book great places to eat close by,as well as helping to plan what to see and do
5) close to Train stations
6) fluffy pillows and remarkably quiet at night
7)wi fi worked really well
8) air conditioned
9)great home made breakfasts prepared at a time thar suits you
10)very spacious rooms and a great outdoor setting

don't even bother to look elsewhere!
)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was the cutest little B&B, which just added to the charm of Avignon. When I broke my camera, Frederic was kind enough to listen to my awful French to figure out what I need and help me fix it. And Verinique is just wonderful - she makes the breakfast everyday (she makes the yogurt and jams herself), and is sweet, accommodating and so friendly. They definitely go out of their way to help make your stay comfortable. Ask her for recommendations on where to eat- the restaurants she suggested were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cote Square B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Square B&B

Address: 8 rue du Crucifix, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is located within the rampart, in the historical center of Avignon, close to the Teinturiers street, 5 minutes walking distance from the Palais des Papes, behind the former General Alms (Arts School), right next to the Pétramale Square.It offers you its private garage should you decide to bring a car.Its rooms and its terrace will make it the ideal stop for you to enjoy Avignon and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cote Square Hotel Avignon
Cote Square Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Square B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cote Square B&B to your Saves list