We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved La ferme de Gigognan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Ferme de Gigognan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Ferme de Gigognan
126 Chemin de Gigognan, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 49 Avignon B&B and Inns
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
1 review
“We loved La ferme de Gigognan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent a delightful 3 nights in Madame Pellicier's "manor", and wished we could have stayed longer. The accommodations were lovely and exquisitely decorated, the linens and towels were high quality, the common areas (sitting room & dining room) were beautifully appointed. And the breakfast room provided a most lovely setting in which to greet the day; the food was of excellent quality with fresh fruit, uncommonly good yogurt, and superb fresh pastries.
I would only ask for better directions because it's easy to miss the turn onto a tiny country road. It would help if she had even a small sign with an arrow on the main road pointing to the side road.
Madame Pellicier treated us as if we were the first guests she's ever had -- she went out of her way to be helpful & personable Her son and grandson happened to be there at the time and they were equally as charming. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Definitely would stay again and recommend it to anyone as tops! It has countryside surrounds, about an acre or more, big lawn and trees and a swimming pool. High fence, big gates, characterful old farm house recently beautifully restored. Hostess Caroline is an ideal advisor, charmer, helper, interior decorator and chef, providing excellent breakfasts (outside in the sun when it's warm). Caroline described that when she and her husband were renovating the house, they made every room "just as we would like it ourselves." The entire place could be the lead story in 'Vogue Living' magazine. The location is excellent - a short walk to the bus, just one stop from Avignon's city wall. And only about half a mile from the TGV train station. All-round super.

Room Tip: Maximum eight guests. Book early. You couldn't do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our five night stay at La ferme de Gigognan. Beautiful country setting, very close to centre of Avignon with easy, quick access by bus. Our hostess, Caroline, was most gracious and friendly, and provided excellent information on what sights to see and how to get there. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was delightfully French. Very large clean room, large comfortable bed, lots of really hot water, so nice to have the option of a bath not just a shower. Excellent continental breakfast with best apricot jam I've had in ages, very fresh French bread, croissants, etc., different fresh fruit every day. Always good quality coffee and choice of teas, yoghurt, orange juice, etc. Lovely garden with pool, and a really large living room for guests to use. Short walk and very easy bus ride to centre of Avignon, with clear instructions from lovely owner Caroline, who speaks good English. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just spent an idyllic 3 days at La Ferme di Gigognan in Avignon with Mme Caroline Pellicier, whose hospitality and helpful service knew no bounds. The house and grounds are lovely, breakfasts excellent, and access to the old walled city of Avignon easy, with regular buses a few minutes' walk away (bus trip takes about 6 minutes). The property is around a ten minute walk from Avignon's TGV station - very handy. We can thoroughly recommend a stay with Mme Pellicier, who helped to make our holiday in France memorable.

Room Tip: We had the Pink Room overlooking the lovely garden. Beds are large and comfortable, and the room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently stayed with Caroline Pellicier and her family at La Ferme de Gignognan. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, very comfortable and spotless. We were travelling with a 2 year old who really appreciated being able to run around outside. We has access to lounge areas for relaxing and watching TV. The grounds are very safe for a toddler. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and Caroline tried valiantly to help me improve my French conversation. Breakfasts were delicious and available at times to suit us. The owner was happy to accommodate our grand daughter's food requirements.
La Ferme is a short walk through fields to the shuttle bus into Avignon. This is a very cheap, quick and easy trip by bus or taxi. Most evenings we all ate in Avignon and came home by bus. We stayed for 5 nights in all and had a really great time.

Room Tip: Let Caroline know any special requirements. She is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We spent a fantastic 5 days in La Ferme. The owners are very friendly and attentive and looked after our friendly labrador while we went out every day.The garden is large and has a wonderful pool, perfect for a dip in the morning to get you going. We cycled to Avignon old town in 10 minutes - a 5 minute drive. The room (chambre rouge) was very cosy, with comfortable matresses and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious (first class teas....). All in all we cannot recommend it highly enough. Gerry and Leslie Simpson (simpsongerald@yahoo.co.uk)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Ferme de Gigognan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme de Gigognan

Address: 126 Chemin de Gigognan, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Ferme de Gigognan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Ferme de Gigognan to your Saves list