We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely WE at Mas de Capelou” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas de Capelou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mas de Capelou to your Saves list
Mas de Capelou
1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely WE at Mas de Capelou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lovely week-end at Mas de Capelou this November and loved visiting the region outside of the high season. Mas de Capelou is a great spot to relax after a day of moutain biking, kayaking under the Pont du Gard and Avignon touring. The rooms are spotless, and the atmosphere perfect for a trip away.

Room Tip: you should try all of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Classic and tranquil spot out in Avignon countryside. Great if you want to take it easy and enjoy pretty pool and scenery and Pop into the city when you'd like. Laid back atmosphere in a pretty setting. The rooms are nicely done but not your typical hotel or modern/renovated villa so check out website and ask questions if picky about rooms. Otherwise this place is stress free living. .

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had the most wonderful and relaxing time here and our host was very gracious and helpful. We originally booked a room for three days but decided to extend our stay and as an apartment was available moved to the apartment. We so enjoyed the beautiful kitchen and the use of the washing machine. The pool and grounds are lovely and very well maintained. I will say if you are here in warm weather you probably should opt for an air conditioned room or apartment as the location is near a river and an orchard and there are mosquitoes at times.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed at Mas de Capelou for five days in October. We rented the Armille apartment with kitchen, living room and two bedrooms. It was lovely! Very modern kitchen with all the conveniences, comfortable living room, and plenty of space for two couples. It was too cold for me to swim, but the couple we traveled with enjoyed the pool. Warm croissants were delivered at our request in the mornings. We very much enjoyed our stay in Avignon. I would recommend that if you stay here you have a car, as it is a bit outside of town. A peaceful, lovely setting with beautiful grounds and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed at Mas de Capelou for a week in September and found the accommodation stunning , so peaceful and tranquil but not far from Avignon, which was lovely as well. The pool was lovely, plenty of sunbeds and towels provided. The owners were friendly and very helpful. We will definitely return.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at Mas de Capelou, a beautiful old property, tastefully renovated and providing the perfect base from which to visit Provence.

Space and peace were the order of the day. We had the apartment Armille (see photos on owners website) which was very large, modern and furnished to a high standard. The well equipped kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals using local, seasonal produce from markets of the region. Fresh local food was also a feature at breakfast (and the evening meal on our first night), a chance to meet and talk to other guests from around the world. Although fully booked during our stay the house never felt busy, there was always plenty of room to relax at the pool and in the tranquil grounds.

Our hosts are what made our holiday extra special... never before have we experienced such genuine hospitality. Jean Pierre was unobtrusively around whenever we needed to seek him out, giving his insights and helpful advice for places we visited, his excellent english making up for my basic french. He even went out of his way to help us pick up a replacement car when our rental needed towing. We highly recommend Mas de Capelou to anyone visiting this lovely part of France.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We arrived at Mas de Capelou after city breaks in Paris and Arles. The Clementine apartment was a cool haven - even without the air conditioning. This apartment is ground floor at the rear of the Mas although not what I would deem to be accessible with uneven steps or a gravelled slope up to the doors.

The property is beautiful and delivers a level of luxury we always look for - air con, heated pool, large showers, high quality bed linen, a modern kitchen and more. We didn't use the attic space which would have been great for a family with children. We slept incredibly well in the comfortable beds and loved the rustic building with the modern interior. If I was being really picky I would want a more comfortable sofa and more seating - if there were 4 adults and 2 kids there would not be enough seats.

One of the attractions was the option to stay on the property and have meals. We would have liked to pay for breakfast some mornings when not rushing off to see the local area but this was not offered. When Jean Pierre cooked dinner on Fri it would have been nice to have a copy of the menu thro our door. I assume others saw the offer at breakfast or passing thro reception.

The pool area was great and the heated water was perfect - cooling but not too chilly. The loungers were high quality and the pool towels great - not always provided for holiday rentals.

Avignon was easily accessed with free parking and park and ride. Great for shopping! We also went to Villeneuve les Avignon for lunch and found nice restaurants with easy parking. We went to the L'Eclerc hypermarket in Les Angles which was easy to access and great for stocking up for the apartment stay with amazing choice!

I think the issue with cleaning charges is that it's not clear on the website how this is applied. It says for shorter stays mandatory. Quite unexpected and slightly embarrassing to be asked whether the apartment was cleaned and whether we felt we should pay the fee. We felt the apartment was clean but we hadn't mopped floor and scrubbed bathrooms so paid half. I think this Jean Pierre should revisit this clause on his rates page.

We would not hesitate to return for a few days bed and breakfast or a week in an apartment (which had to be booked by the week). I would also highly recommend it to anyone who wants to totally escape for a few days!

Room Tip: Clementine is perfect for a family on the shady north side of the house for those who like to be coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Pierre S, Propriétaire at Mas de Capelou, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Allow me to thank you very much for your very nice inputs and suggestions. It is a great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mas de Capelou.

You are right: we need to be more specific on our web site, especially when it comes to services we propose.
Some answers to your questions:
- With the “apartment rent” formula you can enjoy every morning fresh bread and croissants delivery. You also have the option to get a full breakfast, together with customers staying at the hotel
- Charges for apartment cleaning services: this is a very common practice in France, should you rent an apartment in a ski resort or on the Riviera. The charge we ask for is actually low and does not cover our costs.

We are doing our best to be available at Mas de Capelou .
I hope I will have the opportunity to see you again, so that we can talk about all this around the swimming pool…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas de Capelou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Address: 1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas de Capelou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.