We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece if paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas de Capelou

Save Saved
You added Mas de Capelou to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas de Capelou
1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Avignon B&B and Inns
1 review
“A little piece if paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We can't recommend this place enough. Had such a beautiful stay. Our hosts were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was fantastic. Highly recommend organising to have dinner there. We did and it was one of the best meals we ate in France.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
39
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

What a grand old (but modernised) property! This property was the hi-light of our time in avignon. Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was great. The living area is very large and comfortable with a great view over the property. All rooms are air conditioned. The host is excellent and also has sense of humour to match. The grounds are very picturesque and breakfast under the trees is a great start to each day. The hosted dinner was pleasant, food was lovely and fresh. Property is isolated but not a problem as Avignon and Villeneuve are easily accessible by car or taxi, albeit through some narrow roads which was a small challenge for us as we were still getting accustomed to left wheel drive.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Best place to retreat your body and soul after discovering Avignon surroundings. Taking just several minutes drive from center of Avignon, you will find yourself in beautiful countryside. Rooms have all the required amenities and you can relax near the pool after long day. What we will never forget is the smell of baked bread in the morning. Actually this smell was a reason to wake up in the morning. Jean Pierre is very responsive host. Trust him and you will be guided to most tastiest and stylish restaurant in surroundings. Or come for weekend and you will have a chance to have dinner right in the house.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a week in ths lovely former monastery. It has been completely renovated and quite modern but lovely.
Sayed in Amelle room which was huge!
Fabulous heated pool and evening meals etc provided if you give notice to the owners the day before.
The only downside was the hoardes of midges and mosquitos...we all got bitten...take plenty of spray!! Avignon is 8 mins away in a taxi...cost 15. Euros. Well worth visiting as its a beautiful city
Unless you clean your room at the end of your stay, you will be charged 40 euros, which we thought was a bit rich....and unusual!!
Wifi was very spasmodic...I couldn't get it at all on an I pad.

Room Tip: Amellie is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Pierre S, Propriétaire at Mas de Capelou, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your positive inputs. Just two points :
- You rented an apartment (not a room). Cleaning is naturally free and made every day for rooms. Its is an option at the end of the week should you rent an apartment. Either you clean it yourself or you select to have it done by our housekeepers, which you did.
- wifi is available everywhere, even at the pool. I am an iPad user, and could have helped you been connected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jean Pierre is truly wonderful and will welcome you with open arms to his beautiful estate in a quiet oasis about 12 minutes-drive from the center of Avignon. While the drive from Mas de Capelou to Avignon city-centre requires a taxi for dinners or cocktails out at night, it is well worth the stay as you feel like you can truly "escape" into the peaceful, BEAUTIFUL, surroundings tucked away in the flower fields and olive trees. Very quaint, intimate, and lovely. The room we stayed in was newly renovated and had a more modern feel vs. antique/French country, however it was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fairly new bed and breakfast set about 10 mins out of Avignon. You will need a car to use this B n B, but it is well worth it. We stayed in the Chapel suit which consisted of a very big bid room with tables and chairs and a big window that could open right up. The bathroom was huge with a large shower and twin vanities. The bed was very comfortable and the room fittings excellent. (it could use a small fridge for cold water etc.) The air conditioning worked well and all in all I would rate the room as excellent. The grounds are surrounded by fruit trees with a very good pool with deck lounges in which to relax. We used this area on a few occasions after touring the local area. The breakfast is good in a bueatifull setting each morning out in the garden.
The owners are very friendly and very keen to please. I would highly recommend this B n B.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We arrived here in June after an intense month of traveling in Portugal and Spain and found it to be the perfect haven to relax and recharge. Catherine and Jean Pierre were great hosts. Because we have spent a lot of time in Avignon in past vacations we elected to visit wineries during the day and stay in at night and enjoy the "home cooking". Three nights of not eating in restaurants was relaxing and very tasty. Swimming in the pool in the afternoon and having Jean Pierre offer you a glass of rose was delightful. We will definitely stay here next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas de Capelou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Address: 1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas de Capelou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;