We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to Relax @ your pace, and fully enjoy together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas de Capelou

Save Saved
You added Mas de Capelou to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas de Capelou
1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Avignon B&B and Inns
antwerp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect to Relax @ your pace, and fully enjoy together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After two days you are switched off from the executive life excitement. It is pure relaxation at your own pace and time. Breakfast is outside till 10h00. Nice. It usually takes me 7-10 days to leave the executive actions behind but here in 2 days. You are in nature, great rooms, excellent service and a relaxing pool . And romantic at night.. Great to walk, cycle and get lost in the vast fruit farms and eat on the way. :-)
Jean-Pierre & family run it with style and passion. Just perfect.
And it takes 7 minutes by car to Avignon bridge parking, 3-5 minutes with free bus service and you are in the historical part. And in the region the "lost city, monastaries are all whow". So enjoy
Patrick

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had a really great stay at Mas de Capelou. The B & B was apparently a monastery a few hundred years ago. The building has classic stone lines and remnants of old stone fences. It's set next to a pear orchard and many large Sycamore and other types of mature trees. Every day we would pick fresh figs for munching on. Jean Pierre, the proprietor, lives on the property, and is an individual we found to charming and very helpful. His English is excellent. Our room was large, very clean, and decorated well with modern bathroom facilities. The breakfasts were also made from local products, wonderful and made to order, with exceptional breads. There is a very nice pool on the property. It is farther than one would expect from town, but still only about a ten minute drive. Jean Pierre also has apartments that he also rents out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a lovely stay with my husband this summer at peaceful Mas de Capelou.
We stayed in the Suite - Chapel which is brand new, very spacious and has both a modern and traditional touch.
The Mas is also a great spot to enjoy local delicacies : breakfast prepared with local products served on a shaded terrace, local wines recommened by the host Jean-Pierre and delicious meals prepared by his wife Catherine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mas de Capelou really exceeded our expectations. This is a nicely restored farmhouse, situated on a pear orchard in very picturesque countryside just outside of Avignon. The rooms have high ceilings and large windows looking out on the orchard, fresh white walls and linens. Very light and sunny, in good taste. We also had a spacious walk-in shower with modern fixtures, great water pressure, etc. Breakfast each day was perfect--fresh croissants and baguette, homemade preserves, eggs cooked to order, good strong coffee--served outdoors under the trees. And we especially enjoyed coming back to the pool at the end of the day to relax a bit before dinner.

The host is wonderful--very warm and welcoming, but not obtrusive. He also gave us several fantastic local restaurant recommendations and helpful sightseeing tips. This was really a find and we are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Mas de Capelou is a lovely chateau located in pretty countryside just outside Avignon. The grounds are pretty, with a nice pool, and comfortable, spacious rooms (Capeline). Although the building is old, everything inside is modern. Wi-Fi available, but spotty, although in process of improvement. It is a very good location for visiting Avignon and Chateauneuf du Pape, with fairly easy road access (have a GPS). The special part of the stay was the gracious and accommodating Jean-Pierre Sany. We had to leave early in the morning to catch our train to Paris. J-P put a basket outside our door before the sun even rose with coffee and croissants. Service far beyond expectations and such as I doubt I would get at a hotel. Definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Capelline suite is nice for who stays in the main room, but a bit small and a bit close to the toile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Mas De Capelou is a wonderful and relaxing place. We had a fantastic experience there! Comfortable and spacious rooms, fresh breakfast every morning, swimming pool ( which was a plus for our two kids). Located just a few mns from Avignon, it is the perfect spot to scape from the crowds of the city of Avignon and enjoy the country side of France at a very short distance from town. Highly recommended, gracious and welcoming owners.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This country manor house is just a short drive from the walled city and yet in a peaceful rural setting. The rooms and apartments have been recently renovated with modern baths and comfortable beds. Breakfast is included and served on the patio, weather permitting. There is a heated pool and bar area that guests may use to picnic. We also enjoyed a gourmet dinner prepared by our hosts. Jean Pierre and his wife, Catherine, work hard to please you and to provide a very pleasant experience. We spent 4 nights there and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mas de Capelou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Address: 1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas de Capelou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;