We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy family :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas de Capelou

Save Saved
You added Mas de Capelou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mas de Capelou
1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Avignon B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Happy family :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a charming house, perfect for a family holiday. In a calm and worm place. Lovely Innkeepers who made me discover good french wines. I just can't wait to come back during summertime and enjoy the swimming pool !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have had the opportunity to travel several times to this region, but this time, staying at "le Mas de Capelou", I found a little bit of heaven. This was the first time to this part of France for my husband and we could not have found a more peaceful or exquisite place. The hotel is surrounded by beauty, both naturally and architecturally. The rooms are designed with just the right balance of authentic elegance and modern comfort. What a pleasant surprise to open the windows and hear the sounds of the famous french crickets whispering in the hundred-year-old trees!
The staff is both attentive and discreet, service is impeccable. The staff gave us great recommendations of unique sites to visit within this magical region.
We enjoyed a special evening of wine tasting, where we were discovered delectable wines, coming from smaller productions, accompagnied with delicious plates of deli meats and cheeses.

The weather allowed us to soak in the rays, lounging by the beautiful swimming pool...

We can't wait to come back with our children next year!

Truly, a little bit of heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Mas de Capelou. The place is very quiet but still close to many centers of interest in the area. We particularly like the beautiful swimming pool and magnificient trees.
We were welcomed by a very nice gentelman who, in addition to looking like the son of a popular French actor (but is probably of genuine Noblesse origin), gave us valuable recommendations about good wines to buy in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I spent an incredible weekend relaxing by the beautiful pool, barbequing steaks and enjoying the wonderful hospitality of the attentive staff. If you are looking for a comfortable " home away from home," I highly recommend Mas de Capelou.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Mas de Capelou last August. The location is great and quiet. The swimming pool beat our expectations! The Capeline room was great, the trees on the property are magnificent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there. We were looking for authentic Provence and we found it in this charming B&B. We especially appreciated the quiet atmosphere of the property. They have a very nice pool which allows you to relax completely after busy days spent discovering the area. The room was clean and we loved the breakfast. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beautiful and charming B&B. The owners are always very friendly yet discreet. One of the most delicious breakfast we had in a B&B. Swimming pool is great and perfect for unwinding. Don't hesitate to stay there if you ever go around Avignon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mas de Capelou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de Capelou

Address: 1336, chemin des Poiriers | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the Mas of Capelou, a charming 17th century country mansion nestling in a magnificent 2ha domain of orchards. Located on the island of Barthelasse, facing the Cité des Papes, you will be in the heart of Provence and its numerous places of interest. The Mas is 5 mn (6 km) far from Avignon Old City center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mas de Capelou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas de Capelou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.