We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant with tasty Provencal influenced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant L'Essentiel

Restaurant L'Essentiel
2, rue Petite Fusterie, 84000 Avignon, France
04 90 85 87 12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 400 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with tasty Provencal influenced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The service struggles to keep up with the customers when full, but this restaurant runs well and has very nice prix fixe menus to choose from. We had the more modest menu with a delicious tomato terrine with aubergines top and bottom and an aubergine wafer, dry and zesty. The appetiser was topped with a brandade of Haddock with a pistou of rocket lettuce ringing it. Very interesting fresh flavours. I had the tuna, seared with a lemon ginger sauce ringing it and a chick pea and carrot hummus with some sesame seeds. Again very interesting, bold flavours. My wife had the supreme of chicken with chanterelle mushrooms, sitting atop a warm potato salad type of presentations. She loved it.

Dessert was a port poached fig atop a thin, candied slice of beet and buttressed by a scoop of nougat ice cream with the mandatory carmelized sugar wafer decoration.

With a nice biological rose from Aix en Provence, the 2012 Vallon des Anges Domaine de Valdition Rose, the meal for two with wine came it at under 100 Euros.

Good value and a good address to retain. It has a very quaint interior courtyard with attractive stone walls framing the tables there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    176
    44
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“exellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On August 6 and August 7 we ( family) visited this restaurant in Avignon. For diner and lunch.
Both days: excellent food and a very good service. We are used to some good restaurant all over the world, but this restaurant in Avignon is now on our top 10 lists !!
The lady who owns the place was very helpful , she was working very hard , but had everything under control, a very good job !! go on like this we enjoyed it very much

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magret not like others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

They did it again, I made sure to stop on my way to Nice, they never fail me, this time I had a magret de canard prepared with orange sauce and turmeric, excellent marriage, never thought it would work.
Everything else was impeccable ,
As I expected.
Merci chef, merci Madame

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is our favorite restaurant in Avignon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed great food in a very nice open-air courtyard. It had a great wine list and the staff was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“The service was too "good"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had an delicious dinner in the lovely courtyard of this restaurant which was completely spoiled by the rush job we received. As soon as we finished each course, two servers arrived -- one removed the plates and the other delivered the next course. This literally happened within a minute or two after putting down spoons or forks, because a server came to check several times during each course to see if we were finished. What a shame, because the food was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Essentiel also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Restaurant L'Essentiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant L'Essentiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.