We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Riad

Le Riad
17 rue Galante, 84000 Avignon, France
04 90 82 10 85
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Riad is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 400 Restaurants in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We popped into this very busy restaurant without reservations on a Saturday night only to be told that they were fully booked. A couple at the table overheard our plight and could see our disappointment, so hurried through their dinner to give us their table!
The service and the meal were absolutely wonderful and we would definitely return on our next visit to Avignon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    55
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good couscous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food is good, but the place is not very beautiful. The couscous I had was very well served, and it was tasty - but there were not many options for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Need a change?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are fed up with French cuisine, try Le Riad. Couscous, tagine....well prepared and copiously served. Nice decoration. Pleasant service. Possibility to take away. Desserts typically Moroccan.....not for me.
Wine list restricted, but ok.
Restaurant quite cold in winter, take a pullover.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just like Morocco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from a trip to Morocco last month and have been craving tagine ever since. And well, let me just say that Le Riad did not disappoint! We had 2 different kinds of tagine, served with cous cous and it was so full of flavor! We also had Moroccan mint tea which was pretty much the exact same thing we had all throughout the country, but it was less sugary and actually better tasting. It was kind of different that they didn't serve us bread with our tagine (they gave us cous cous instead), but I actually preferred it this way. You could probably just ask for bread, I'm sure they have it. I will definitely be going back next time I'm in Avignon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“No real flavour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having travelled extensively in North Africa including Morocco we went to the Riad expecting something special. It failed to deliver and although it has a Moroccan theme and presents North African dishes I'm a little surprised that reviews suggest it provides authentic and quality food. We had a tagine and a cous cous and both were quite frankly dissapointing as both lacked depth of flavour and were for the price not good value for money. Maybe we went on an off day or maybe our expectations were too high.
We really wanted this place to deliver but sadley its food was really only average.
Service was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Riad also viewed

 

Been to Le Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.