We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Avignon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La petite peche

La petite peche
13 rue Saint-Etienne, 84000 Avignon, France
+33 (0)4 90 86 02 46
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 405 Restaurants in Avignon
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find in Avignon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our first night in Avignon, our hotel recommended a few restaurants along this street. We sat outside, enjoyed the ambiance. Excellent sardines, grilled octopus salad, shrimp and grilled calamari. The owner was lovely and made us feel welcome. We met a wonderful couple at the table next to us and shared great food and great wine. What a great first impression of the city!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    51
    5
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good fish, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The food may be simple at this tiny restaurant but there is nothing wrong with that. Delicious Coquilles St Jacques, a generously sized portion, made a great starter, while the grilled Lotte and the Salmon made delicious main courses. Our stir-fried vegetables were fresh, crisp and delicious. With fresh fish, simply cooked, there is little one could complain about and prices are very fair.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My tour guide told me of this place. a little place with delightful fresh fish and scrumptious prepared vegetables . I also had a homemade Tiramisu and my cappuccino was prepared with hand whipped creme. Friendly delightful, warm and cozy with good prices also.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Avignon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Really lovely seafood. Went with some friends, we all ate different meals and were all competing for who had the best (the octopus risotto that I had was the best). Nice service and quite small but they know what they are doing with seafood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little gem at the little Pêche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This afternoon we were walking from the Pont d'Avignon back to our hotel and we found this gem of a restaurant. We went to La Petite Pêche tonight and we cannot recommend this restaurant too highly. The food is delicious and perfectly cooked. The service was friendly and efficient. We started with grilled sardines which were fresh and just delicious. We then had daurade and sea bass with vegetables and they were both perfectly cooked. This was accompanied by a wine which the proprietor recommended and which was excellent. This was undoubtedly the best meal and the best value that we have had in Avignon over the last week.
PS - we returned to this restaurant on our last night and we delighted that the food and service was just as good as it was on our first visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La petite peche also viewed

Le Pontet, Avignon
Le Pontet, Avignon
 
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to La petite peche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La petite peche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.