We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Au Boeuf Qui Fume” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant La Ferme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant La Ferme to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Chemin des Bois | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Ménerbes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Au Boeuf Qui Fume”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fabulous restaurant for steaks or anything grilled as they have a huge fire and they are grilled in front of you. Unusual for France ! We didn't try the A la carte menu, but we have been told it is good. There were lots of French people there for lunch, always a good sign.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
60
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Very nice place. Hard to get to without rented car. Food excellent. We were on organized bike tour of Provence. Staff very nice and helpful. Very difficult to get taxi to pick us up from this location at the end of bike trip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEAVERHAM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Booked 6 nights,stayed for 13. Exceptionally good in all aspects.Staff well trained by the owners, and all our requests were fulfilled.Rooms lacked nothing. Menu (extensive) changed daily, food was delicious and the proportions generous. Ample parking, nice to dine outside in September.Natalie and Thiery are great hosts and run an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We drive to the South of France each year and fin Avignon a convenient overnight stop. Having left our bookings a title late this year, we were unable to find something suitable in the city centre itself. I'm glad as it meant we discovered this place. It was perfect for our one night stay and first night in France. Arriving in time for the last of the sun around the pool area, we were able to relax with a couple of drinks. Dinner was served under the huge wisteria vine which created a lovely atmosphere.

The amuse bouche was big and tasty - salmon. Both my tuna carpaccio and steak were beautifully presented and the steak was perfectly cooked. The wine list was reasonably priced.

I agree with others that the rooms are a little tired but I found my bed very comfy and everything I needed in the bathroom. The breakfast is a little disappointing and can be a bit of a crush - I think dinner is definitely the draw here - in fact we noticed many of the dinner guests weren't staying at the hotel an had driven out especially to eat there.

The two resident cats were friendly for those amongst us who needed some animal time! Looking forward to staying next year on our way South - will endeavour to arrive in time for a swim!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel.
We picked it up based on its location, since we were looking for a quiet place. And it matched our expectations.
The room was not big, but not ridiculously small either. The bathroom was extremely clean, and pretty big.
The bed was extremely soft and comfy.
The restaurant is excellent, with a wide variety of choice and some fine cuisine.
We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, with some fresh bread and pastries. Just don't go there too close to the end, since some of the items may be missing.
As mentioned in other reviews, the staff was really nice and helpful.
Definitely a place to recommend to whoever is looking for a quiet place and some good food.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Based on other reviews from Trip Advisor, we decided to make this our base for a cycling trip in the local area. The staff are friendly and welcolming, but the accommodation is unfortunately a let down.

We had the 'average' room. It's small and slightly claustrophobic. The door looked like someone had broken into it at some point, although I'm sure this was entirely innocent. Air conditioning didn't work (the button was broken), despite it being 30c outside. Of the four plug sockets, only 1 worked. Bed was ok, but small for a hotel.

The restaurant was very good, and a simple continental breakfast is offered in the morning. Unfortunately a mix up with the final bill slightly marred our stay.

GOOD POINTS - Restaurant / Location / Bike Hire / Staff
BAD POINTS - Rooms

Room Tip: Make sure you upgrade to one of the better rooms that the hotel has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laferme, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant La Ferme, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
hello,
Thank you for visiting our family farm, but we are surprised by your comments about the two rooms you were in, knowing that these are the preferred of our visitors in general. The size of the bed you notice is standard (140 x 200 cm) and marked as such on all websites.
Finally, you talk about a billing problem ay check out which is completely false. Remember, you had booked in September will claim our June promotion, entitled "Spring 2014" offered two free breakfast for all bookings made in direct. On arrival, I explained that this promotion was no longer in business but as I proposed you move to the bed and breakfast formula that saves 1 breakfast on 2. You have accepted, but you try to renegotiate at check out and my husband remained steadfast.
We take your criticism for what it is, a judgment guided by the frustration of not having correctly read the information on our hotel and its services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from spending 3 nights at La Ferme. It was a great find! Ideal location for seeing Avignon and other towns. The hotel owners were most welcoming and very helpful. The room was small but very comfortable and clean which was all we needed. The restaurant was excellent with delicious food and friendly staff. It has a lovely pool. A lovely aspect with tables and chairs under a canopy of plain trees and wisteria under which we were lucky enough to eat most of our meals.
Paul and Sarah, 7-10th Sept 2014

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Ferme

Address: 110 Chemin des Bois | Ile de la Barthelasse, 84000 Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Ferme 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel/restaurant in the countryside, 4 km from the center of Avignon. This old farm of nearly 400 years offers its 22 charming rooms, restaurant, shaded terrace, swimming pool, ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant La Ferme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.