We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what you expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Boatel

Save Saved
You added Le Boatel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Boatel
A Quai Au Pont Van Gogh, 13200, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 57 hotels in Arles
Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Depends on what you expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a floating hotel, a boat with several tiny rooms below-deck. It is in the middle of an industrial area, not at all attractive and certainly no where I'd want to wander around after dark. They apparently have a restaurant but it was closed but we were able to eat at a floating restaurant next door. However, they are not always open and if not there is nothing for miles. I thought it would be a different, romantic spot. Unfortunately, the time of our visit was unseasonably hot and even with the door open and the fan on it was very warm in the room. We could not sit outside due to swarms of mosquitoes. We were the only guests on the boat so I am not sure why we were put into what had to be the smallest room on board with an angled beam taking away half the head space. We arrived at 8PM, forgetting completely that they "suggest" a 6 PM latest arrival. Fortunately the manager did wait for us. If you manage your expectations, and the temperature makes it comfortable, it might be worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
3
50
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We booked this for one night. We knew it was a bit off the beaten track, but we were in town for only one day. We were touring Southern Europe for a number of weeks so we wanted to save money on this leg, thus picked this place due to the economical offering.

We arrived mid afternoon with our luggage to find they were closed for the afternoon and would re-open hours later. What would we do with our bags?! We stood around weighing our options (one of which was to ditch the place and find a place open we were we could drop off our bags). Luckily, we drew the suspicion of the groundskeeper and they took pity on us and let us store our bags until they reopened. We booked via booking.com and the instructions were not so obvious about the closing times. If you choose to stay here and you have large luggage make sure you arrive when they are open.

To get there we took a cab (the taxi driver was not so happy driving there since the main street was closed and he had to drive a dirt road). To leave on the next day we walked (a couple of miles away) to the train station at around 4-5am . We do not recommend to do this in the dark - although I am sure it was safe I was scared walking all the way to the station since the location is an industrial part of town. Also, we participate in endurance sports so it was ok with us to walk the distance with heavy backpacks though we were winded at the end.

On the night before we got ourselves a bottle of wine and the hostess lent us a wine opener and glasses. We stayed on the deck for sundown enjoying the sun and free wireless internet to blog about our day. It was perfect.

All in all, I would recommend to stay here if you are ok with being on the outskirts of town and if you are ok with a small room (the room was stuffy but offered fans - it was ok for one night). The people were nice and the place was well kept - it was good deal for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed for just one night as an overnight stop whilst travelling aroung southern france.

Had a little trouble finding the place so make sure you take their directions if you book.
Not in the centre of Arles and yes it looks a little unlikley when you drive through the industrial area to get there but once on the waterside it is a lovely peaceful spot.

We ate on the open deck, excellent food and wine and friendly yet professional service.

The bedroom/cabin was rather hot as it was mid August, but there was a fan but no air condiioning. Room was small but had everything you needed including a porthole view of the water which makes this a really different stay. Good breakfast in the sunshine in deck was a great start to the next day.

Maybe not somewhere to stay for more than a couple of days but certainly worth a night or 2 and eat on the deck at least once.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

· Location: Far outside the city centre, alongside an industrial estate, on a small smelly canal
· Accomodation: We booked a double room and were given a twin and told there were no double rooms available, although we saw a couple of double rooms free (there were only 3 other rooms booked the night we stayed). The room was very stuffy with a fan provided, but we had to sleep with the door open for air circulation. Definitely not worth €90 a night.
· Other inconveniences: No check in until 6pm. We were invited to a live flamenco evening on deck from 7-9pm at an obligatory €5 per head; we weren’t interested so stayed in our room as there was no other place to go. The kitchen closed without notice before 10pm although we did notify them earlier we wanted dinner. However they did offer a cold seafood salad which was very good.
· Overall, it is a very ordinary boat and unless you have never been on one with cabins, it is definitely not a unique experience and the surrounding environment is quite depressing. The boat is secured and completely stationary so there is no sense of movement of being on water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed in the much-discussed room #6 (the cheaper room with one, rather than two portholes) and did not experience any noise from the stairs above the room.

Luxuriously appointed with wide-plank wood floors and plush bedding, the room was very small, but comfortable. The bathroom was spic-n-span clean, the wireless internet worked flawlessly, and the surroundings were serene, quiet, and extremely relaxing. The room did get somewhat stuffy in the morning, so this might become an issue during the summer.

Please note, this hotel is located at least a 30 minute walk from the town's center and therefore, is only recommended for those traveling by car.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Boatel

Address: A Quai Au Pont Van Gogh, 13200, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 hotels in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Boatel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Boatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.