We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect more then you think!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camargue Nature Park

Camargue Nature Park
13200 Arles, France
33 04 90 97 10 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Attractions in Arles
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Expect more then you think!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We hiked there for 2 days with a tent, the hikes were fantastic and very scenic! Overall its busy on the main trails but deeper in the park there are mainly birds (many of them!!) and horses. For all the bird interested ones there is a good spotting places for ruffs, green shank, red shank, gulls, terns, Western Marsh Harrier and so on.
We were spending an extra day in Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer its also lovely and offers nice working options around the small village and the Mediterranean sea.
Prfect place to relax and enjoy the nature there!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    94
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love, Love The Camargue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wild white horses, little bulls, migrating flamingoes, French cowboys (les gardians), and the seaside town of Stes. Maries de la Mer -- what's not to love? This natural park is just beautiful and well worth the drive. I suspect it's a part of France that not too many visitors see. Just lovely!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Birding paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

One of the great European birding experiences, a day or a week in the Camargue is sure to turn up sights and sightings to excite even long-term observers. My only complaint is that I can't go every year.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“There really are white horses everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Full disclosure, I am not a huge nature person- that said, the area is absolutely beautiful. Even if you don't go to the pay-to-enter park - there really are white horses running wild on the side of the road - we saw a couple of bulls and flamingos as well... Though the flamings were actually in the park. Very beautiful even if just to drive through and marvel.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great half day trip to an unusual landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We went in a landrover trip for about 3 and a half hours around the area. It is flat and marshy, after a wet winter and spring it was very green and pretty. We saw plenty of flamingos, white Camargue horses (in fields) and Spanish and Camargue Bulls (in fields).
It was interesting to see the rice fields and the water irrigation systems.
I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camargue Nature Park also viewed

 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Provence, France
 

Been to Camargue Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camargue Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.