We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Musee to your Saves list
Hotel Du Musee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue du Grand Prieure, Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Arles
Aylesbury
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good value, nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice and central, clean and very good value. Recommended. Ideal hotel for a stay in Arles . Staff very welcoming. Excellent choice. Under 70 euros for a double room, we found it a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
119
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The charm of this hotel is its courtyard, where you can enjoy the continental breakfast, and lounge around out of the heat of the day, and converse with other hotel patrons... Very good location too, steps away from the Rhône and from the squares and pedestrianized streets of the old town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed at Hotel Du Musee for two nights and loved it. It seems like it should be a three-star instead of a two-star. Everything was clean, well-decorated and well maintained. The showers were hot and had strong water pressure. The breakfast was very good and they allowed us to store our bicycles on the property. It was very well located for walking everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, Nederland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is situated in the centre of Arles. The old roman remains and the numerous shopping streets are all easily reached on foot. The historical building has many nice details. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. We were well received by the owner who helped us with a restaurant reservation. Our bicycles were allowed to stay indoor. There is a nice lounge and free WiFi. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Musee with some friends. The hotel was not difficult to find, and walkable from the train station. The location is great for walking around Arles, and is near most of the sights and decent restaurants.
Both rooms were nice, but there are definitely stairs to schlep your bags up. Some of the rooms have recently been refurbished and there are street or patio views. There are some common public rooms and a patio. Breakfast is additional, but is quite good. (There are other places for breakfast and the weekly market has some choices)
On the whole, a place I would revisit, the staff was quite welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the place to be centrally located and quiet. The rooms are old and dated but overall good value for money. We stayed on the second floor which is quite a hike if you have bad knees. Ok

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found this hotel in one of Rick Steves' book and we were not disappointed. We located the hotel without too much difficulty. It is across the street from the Musee Reattu, which we did not visit. The manager kindly parked our car for us as the website said the parking garage was difficult to park in. He also brought the car out of the garage for us each day. One does not need a car in Arles but we made a day trip to the Carmague. Back to the hotel. The two of us had a room for three with a double bed and a single bed. The room was large enough for three so it was spacious for two. Not surprising the bathroom seemed like an add on. It was roomy by European standards. The funny thing was that the floor in the hall leading to the bathroom slanted down into the bathroom. At the shortest point my husband's head touched the ceiling. (He is 6ft 3) He hung sheets of paper from the ceiling to warn him to duck. The ceiling in the bathroom was a "normal" height. We got a good laugh from this situation. The courtyard was a lovely place for breakfast with many flowers. The food was above average. There was an extra charge for the breakfast. There were many choices and all very fresh. We enjoyed visiting with the other hotel guests. We found the hotel management pleasant and willing to answer questions. The hotel was in a good location for walking to the many interesting sites in Arles. I would definitely stay there again when I return. .

Room Tip: The room for three was spacious...good choice for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Address: 11 Rue du Grand Prieure, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Musee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.