We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Musee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Musee to your Saves list
Hotel Du Musee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Rue du Grand Prieure, Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Arles
Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel Du Musee, and found the accommodations to be very nice. Our room looked out on the courtyard, which was a pleasant view. The location of the hotel made it easy to get to. We were travelling by train, so we walked everywhere, and were pleased with the location - plus it is close to several good restaurants. The room was quiet and clean. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    89
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
119
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had high hopes for the Hotel Du Musee but were disappointed overall. The hotels courtyard is as beautiful as it looks on the website but the rooms are very standard accommodation. Rooms on the upper floors are reached by steep, narrow staircases so those with limited mobility may have difficulty with access. As advised in other reviews, there is an unpleasant smell at times.

The hotel is quite hard to find and situated in a narrow locked street (entry by residents code). Also the hotel advertises that it has secure parking, so if you are driving make sure your carpark is confirmed as there are only 4 parks available for the whole hotel. We also noted that there was only very limited public carparking in proximity to the hotel and most of this was metered.

On the upside, the town of Arles has an interesting history and the hotel is in walking distance to many of the sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Du Musee in Arles three nights..21-23 September. This family-owned hotel was great. Public spaces charming. Owners very helpful. Ample daily breakfast in/near an enclosed courtyard. First floor room had a nice courtyard view. Comfortable bed, good linens and nicely updated bath with all the amenities. Location is outstanding and a car really isn't necessary. So, we had them park our wheels in their garage. It disappeared after arrival and reappeared upon checkout! A bit challenging to find as it is on a restricted access pedestrian walkway. Just know that in advance, get the barrier code; punch it in and the barrier drops so you can drive right up to the door. Loved this historic property, the services and location. We would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been there this summer. The stay was good, even if rooms were not really comfortable, they were small and not really with a good smell. But, location is very good, breakfast is good and taken in a nice inner courtyard. Hotel is in a historical building, so it looks "warmer" than othe place. In general, it could be advised, except for the rooms, where there is "room" for improvement.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I must qualify this review by saying that we were so unhappy upon arriving and seeing our room, that we did not stay. The lower level courtyard is very attractive. The stairways and corridors are very dark with light switches that are timed to go off pretty quickly. Our room was very plain without the charm of the lower level of the hotel. As a previous reviewer experienced, our room had a strong sewer smell. We could not be moved because the hotel was booked. The manager insisted that the smell was from the "Mistral" wind which can permeate the town, but we did not experience this smell anywhere else. Also, the rate we were charged was higher than the rates publicly posted at the reception desk. While it is true that we accepted their confirmation at this rate, which included breakfast, we were not informed that breakfast was optional. When we told them we did not want breakfast at the price they were charging, they would not take it off of our charges because it was in our confirmation.
Finally, if you stay at Hotel Du Musee, be aware that it is very difficult to find. The hotel does have parking, but it was full as were nearby parking lots.
In the end, we drove to Avignon where we found a very comfortable room for 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at this charming hotel in a great location in the center of the old city of Arles. The outside eating area is lovely and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. However, unfortunately, a very strong sewer smell came up through the bathroom pipes and permeated our entire room (even with the bathroom door closed). I had to keep the large window totally open at all times. The staff tried to correct the smell without success and the hotel was fully booked so we could not be transferred to another room. I inquired with the other guests and no one else had this issue. Therefore, make sure that you do not get room #11; otherwise I would strongly recommend Hotel Du Musee.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #11 as the bathroom has a sewer smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We needed to find a place quickly for the night after getting a bit lost on our road trip from Dijon. We really lucked into Hotel Du Musee. They were very accommodating on the phone and gave us directions. Center city Arles has extremely narrow streets, so it is a bit tricky driving, but the hotel is close to the wall and there is public parking maybe 100 yards from the hotel, so it is convenient if you are driving.

You could walk everywhere from the hotel. There are lots of restaurants for dinner and, as others have said, a lovely courtyard for breakfast. It is a pretty typical French hotel in this price range, but the location, friendly staff, and character of the building are what inspire such high ratings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee

Address: 11 Rue du Grand Prieure, Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Musee Hotel
Du Musee Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Musee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.