We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Du Petit Grava

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas Du Petit Grava
Save
You added Mas Du Petit Grava to your Saves list
Hameau de Moules, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Arles B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We've just returned home from our stay at 'The Mas' and we're still giddy from our experience.

Upon our arrival, we immediately felt welcome to this beautiful and thoughtfully restored home. It is a rural treasure that belies the cultural sophistication of its hosts.

The shimmering pool anchors the house and beckons you to explore the gardens which can be seen from every room. The view from each window is quintessential Provence: fruit orchard, rose garden, tall hedgerows, garden terrace with pot after flowering pot and fields beyond.

Our room was spacious, immaculately clean, well lit and shared a view of the gardens and pool. The adjoining private bath was also immaculate with a large sink and deep soaking tub - dare I say it?... large enough for two!

The furnishings in our room were well cared for and comfortable. The bed linens were crisp and the pillows, lightly scented with lavender, plentiful. Two sitting chairs, a beautiful drop front desk, commodious wardrobe and two bedside tables with their art glass lamps at the ready for that late evening read - all confirmed this room to be just right for us.

Because of its location, 'The Mas' enjoys a view of the Provence night sky unimpeded by intrusive light pollution. For us city-dwellers, that's a treat! While in bed, we enjoyed a view of a swirling starry sky much in the spirit of Van Gogh and the gentle breeze that rustled through the courtyard trees made for a comfortable August night's sleep without the need for air conditioning.

Our hosts were calm, kind and ever-ready to share their knowledge of the area and the 'must-see' sights. Breakfast with them and the other guests was on the order of a Salon, where ideas and thoughts of the day were shared along with Ike's now infamous breakfast offerings of baked goods, fresh juice, fruit and homemade confitures.

'The Mas' is a joy for the senses with a peaceful energy that can only come from the warmth and hospitality of its hosts. There is plenty of both at 'The Mas'.

In all, this was the nearest heaven one can experience.

Our only regret is that we were unable to stay longer.

.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful, southerly view over the pool and gardens. Each has a different pastel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days at Mas Du Petit Grava and found it to be a great way to explore the Provence area. Jim and Ike, owners of Mas, were extremely friendly and accommodating. They provided us with guidebooks and maps when they found out that we didn't have them already, and graciously offered to suggest best parking options and restaurants in the cities. It also helped that they spoke fluent English (and French too).

My girlfriend arrived a little bit under the weather. Luckily Jim and Ike supplied some allergy medicine to help her through the night.

Breakfast each morning was always amazing, and often would last over an hour chatting with the owners and other guests. The green room we stayed in was spacious with comfortable beds, linens, and clean bathroom. Everything was always in order and fully prepared. Wifi was speedy too.

The location was great too. It's sufficiently out of the way to feel completely detached from cities, but also within easy driving distance to Arles, Avignon, Nimes, Aix-en-Provence, Pont du Gard, etc. We even ventured out to Gordes and farther east in the quest for lavender fields.

To me, living in a well maintained 300-year old farm house, surrounded by gardens, real farms, and wild flowers, was an authentic Provence experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visiting Provence in June is amazing, with the lavender fields, flowers in bloom and cool evenings. This was my first trip to Provence and I did a lot of research while planning the trip. I wanted to be outside of a city, I wanted a pool, and I wanted to stay in a B and B that had as much charm as Provence itself. We found all of this and more at Mas Du Petit Grava. We were in the yellow room which has two beds and is very spacious. There is a large airy bathroom attached to this room. The beds are comfortable as well as the pillows and the beds have provencal print quilts and lovely bed linens. There is no air conditioning, but with the large windows open, we had very restful nights! The hosts, Ike and Jim were so accommodating. As all of the reviewers have said, the breakfasts are so much more than you would expect in most B and B's. Homemade treats every morning. In St Marten de Crau near by, we bought cheese, pate, wine, and bread and had wonderful picnics at the garden at the Mas in the evening. The pool is so refreshing after a day of sightseeing. This is a perfect place to stay to tour the Luberon and the Camargue. An Arles restaurant that Rick Steeves recommended that we loved is called Le Cote. It is near the Roman ruins.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

After two busy days in Nice, we arrived at Mas Du Petit Grava and were greeted by Jim and Ike, owners of this lovely Be&B. It was such a welcome change from the busyness of Nice, and in the countryside just between St Marten de Crau and Arles.
The farmhouse, 300 years old, has been restored by Jim and Ike, and is very peaceful and serene. Rooms are decorated tastefully, pool is lovely, and gardens and flowers are breathtaking.
The highlight is the breakfast prepared by Ike with something different every day. Homemade pancakes, marmalade, muffins, omelet, bread, yogurt, coffee, juice, were just a few.
We found ourselves wondering each evening what Ike would be preparing the next morning.
It also gave the guests a chance to chat about their previous day, and make plans for the day with the help of Jim and Ike.
Jim is a Van Gogh enthusiast, and knows everything about his life, and generously shares information with guests.
Jim was very helpful in sugesting restaurants, sights, and without being intrusive made us feel very much at home in this beaufiful setting.
It is a great place to make home base for visiting the Luberon and nearby towns.
Will definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent. Not a bad room. Also have a 2 bedroom guest house behind the farmhouse .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

we recently spend 6 days at mas du petit grava, using it as our base for exploring all the wonderful sights and experiences in provence. it is convenient to everything you might want to see - les baux, the luberon villages, nimes and pont du gard, avignon, arles and even cassis. we stayed in the cottage - 2 bedrooms, LR, fully equipped kitchen and dining area (both indoor and outdoor), and shared bathroom. spending time with ike and jim, our hosts, and all the other guests at the most wonderful breakfasts was a true delight. problem is, it's hard to tear yourself away to start your explorations for the day! (and i wouldnt have minded a shower curtain for those of us hand-held shower sprayer challenged)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

After seeing it in movies for years, I experienced Provence fully at this wonderful B&B. The setting is lovely - on a few orchard-and-flowery acres near Arles - and Ike & Jim were charming, funny, attentive hosts, especially to our 12-year-old daughter and 14-year-old son. The rooms are classic stone-manor, with all the modern conveniences (deep soaking tub especially appreciated). We used it as our base for long walks on the country streets and day trips, include the Arles Saturday market. Ike & Jim are born storytellers with a wealth of info about the area - all of their recommendations were good. Great breakfasts, and for what you get, very reasonable prices. Really, we loved everything and found ourselves wanting to stay much longer than our three days.

Room Tip: The orange room has light from two directions and a nice, deep soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Mas du Petit Grava is a quiet retreat in sometimes tourist over run Provence. It is a large comfortable 300 year old farm house which has been completely remodeled. Rooms are large and pleasant. Grounds are absolutely lovely. It is close to everything but a quiet refuge compared to crowded Arles. Ike was a wonderful host helping us with laundry problems, a non-functional GPS, and getting us reservations at great restaurants. Breakfasts were huge and tasty. He was calm, patient and welcoming. Mas du Petit Grava ranked with the best of our lodgings during our 31 day driving tour of France. Vyn and Jan, Seattle

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas Du Petit Grava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Du Petit Grava

Address: Hameau de Moules, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mas Du Petit Grava Hotel Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Du Petit Grava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.