We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergound arcade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cryptoportiques

Cryptoportiques
Rue Balze, Arles, France
04-90-49-36-74
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Attractions in Arles
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Undergound arcade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The cryptoportiques are entered through the city hall building. They extend under a fair amount of the current town of Arles. There are some archaeological investigations going on. You can appreciate the sheer size of the Roman ruins by taking a stroll here. The Arles card works here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    49
    47
    18
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneola, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Creepy underground walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This has all the makings of a creepy zombie movie. It was dark, damp, and full of echoes. There was not much to see, except another example of Roman engineering.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Interesting, but I'm not sure I learned anything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was an interesting visit, as part of the Arles Pass we opted to visit.

It guess I am just confused as to what it was? A historic Roman arcade I think... But there is pretty much no info so we just kept walking in the damp dark, passed little bits of ancient roman columns stacked up against the walls until it ended and we turned around.

If you have the pass then it's worth it but I would not recommend spending the $ to see it omits own.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A trip to the underground”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We checked out the Cryptoportiques because it was part of our Arles Pass Monuments Liberté. We actually weren’t sure what we were exploring. The entry point was in the city hall. We then descended a long set of stairs, not knowing what would await us at the bottom. Would it be catacombs full of artfully arranged skeletons, like in Paris? Would it be excavations of a forgotten Roman settlement? A bunch of gnarly-looking men yelling “Rise!” at Christian Bale?

In all honesty, we’re still not sure what we saw (or thought we saw, since it is pretty dark down there). Our best guess is it was the underground passageways for the Roman forum. The construction seemed to be Roman. Later research explained that the Greeks originally built it and that academics think the space might have been used as barracks.

From our point of view, we had some cool ancient underground tunnels entirely to ourselves for ten minutes of mucking about, but only worth a visit only if you have the Monuments pass. Don’t wear good shoes down there because it can be a bit wet and muddy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dark!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not too much to see there, but a huge place under the surface that could resurrect your kiddy fears about ghost, zombies and dark magic. Long corridors, humid and very sparsely lit. The perfect place if you're in vampire mood or if you want to have a meaningful Halloween party.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cryptoportiques also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Cryptoportiques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cryptoportiques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.