We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Regence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Regence to your Saves list
Le Regence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Marius Jouveau, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The situation of this hotel is ideal; arriving by car,we found it easy to drive to, but it would be equally convenient by train. It was close to the old town so that we were able to walk everywhere. Our room overlooking the Rhone was delightful, well worth the extra money, and breakfast was plentiful. But best of all was the very friendly welcome from Eric,( who was so helpful on our arrival) and his wife.

Room Tip: The Rhone -view rooms are larger and offer opportunities for watching the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are very happy to be able to make your stay with good advice, it was with pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    65
    15
    0
    5
See reviews for
31
88
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. We asked for a room with a view, and it was beautiful! The location was close to the train, so we were able to walk there with no problem. The room was typical in size for European hotels and very clean. The breakfast was nice and reasonably priced. The owner spoke English very well, so that was helpful. It's very easy to walk everywhere in Arles, so it was no problem getting around, so we chose this hotel mostly because of its proximity to the train. No lift. Very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your encouraging review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had a very pleasant two-night stay here, with our small child. It is an indepenedent family run hotel, and run by very nice friendly people at that. From my first telephone contact with them, they were very helpful, and, as others have mentioned, the manager is very willing to give out maps and advice on how the get the most out of Arles and the surrounding area. Rooms were very adequate for sleeping in - comfy beds, crisp sheets and very clean. Breakfast buffet was fresh, plentiful and readily replenished. Note there's no elevator. We had a side room but still had the river view - which is literally across the street.

Makes a nice change to be able to leave a hotel and find all you want within a gentle walk, but that's how it is in Arles. We easily found two very suitable pavement cafe places for our evening meals, though there are more upmarket options available. The market on Wednesday morning was well worth a stroll - all the local produce available - my wife bought some lavender honey. Close enough to Avignon to do there and Pont du Gard in a combined day trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your encouragement and pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is a good value for the price. It is well located, with a view of the Rhone from some windows. The hotel is clean, quiet. The staff there is friendly and very helpful. Eric advised me where to park, gave me a map with suggestions about where to go in the city, and described for me the festival that was going on, which events were held where, etc. He was particularly helpful to me when I had issues about returning my rental car; he called the rental agency and helped me resolve my concerns, which was much appreciated (as I do not speak French).

The breakfast was well-stocked and typical for European breakfast.

I would not hesitate in staying here again if/when I find myself back in Arles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
thanks very much for your message
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We can not imagine a hotel that would meet our needs any better than Le Régence. Close in, yet not too close in. Quiet. Parking. Very helpful hosts. Room 18 if you want river views and sunsets. "Superior" rooms are available, but they must be amazing if they offer better views than #18. Street parking can be difficult, but limited garage parking is available if street parking is a concern for you. Book the garage early. There's nice sized free car park in a courtyard just one half block walk along the quai to your left as you exit the hotel. Rooms are small and there is no lift, so guests who require more space or help getting up stairs should understand that up front. We are very light breakfast folks so we can not comment on the breakfast. All ratings are based on our personal needs. We hit the jackpot with our choice of Le Régence.

Room Tip: Room 18. River views. Sunsets. Take in a lively (if you're 65) game of pétanque at Lamartine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
thanks very much and see you a next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very nice location, close to everything: the train station, the attraction...
Right on Rhone, the view is gorgeous. Ask for a river view room earlier, it's limited.
The hotel owners are nice and sweet. For something can not be guaranteed, he would say no first, and later gave us surprises.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
thanks for your message
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We could not believe that you can get such a nice hotel in Arles on a limited budget. Waking up to see the sun come up and the river barges sailing In and out was really lovely, and at night it was very romantic. Every attraction in Arles was within walking distance, and parking was free and right beside the entrance. The location is a great base for exploring the area-- we took day trips to les Baux, St Remy, the Cote du Rhone wineries, the Camargue, Ste Marie de la Mer, Nimes and Avignon. A great, affordable home base in Provence!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
thanks for your message
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regence

Address: 5 Rue Marius Jouveau, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regence 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two stars hotel, Regence hotel offers its international clientele both a pleasant and fonctional stay. Situated in the heart of the city, surrounded by free parking, visitors will find Arles monuments and museums within walking distance. The Regence hotel welcomes all visitors who which to discover Arles, the Camargue, the Provence, 16 bright and confortable rooms ranging from singles to quads at a very reasonable and economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regence Arles
Le Regence Hotel Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Regence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.