We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Regence

Save Saved
You added Le Regence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Regence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Marius Jouveau, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 hotels in Arles
Neu-Anspach, Hessen, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

At the very beginning, this hotel is not suitable for disabled persons because there was no elevator in the house in Septembre 2012.
Nevertheless the reception is friendly and multilingual. The rooms with riverview are not new, but tiny, tidy and functionable, equiped with television and air condition, no approach to www. Completely new are the barrierfree bathrooms, narrow but really comfortable. You will find the beds cushy, but the night might end at 6 o´clock when working people start their day. Due to this you live to see the rising sun over the river Rhone.
Absolute ace in the hole the garage, so you can exclude the permanent lack of parking places in Arles.
The position is fantastic, you have a lot of restaurants (e.g. La Cigaliere) and bars around and you can reach the amphitheatre within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    55
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
23
79
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent Hotel in a great location. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The managers were extremely helpful, friendly and curteous. The breakfast buffet was a very nice touch with plenty of coffee available in a relaxed setting. River view from our room.

Wonderful experience here on our three weeks in Provence. We will be back!!

Room Tip: ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose to stay at Le Regence in Arles based upon Rick Steves and Trip Advisor. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The owners were very helpful. The location is great. We had a river view and always had a free place to park our car. There is not an elevator, so beware that the 2nd floor, really feels like the 3rd when carrying suitecases. We were quoted 63euros a night, but charged 65 euros. When I brought this up at checkout, it was not corrected. The breakfast is not worth the charge. All in all, good place to stay and visit Arles and surrounding area.

Room Tip: We spent 3 days. Lots to see in Arles. Don't eat on or near the Place du Forum. We made the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
dear , madam, dear sir,
thank you for your kind message.
Following the billing problem, thank you contact us by e-mail to verify your invoice in relation to your booking and if we made ​​a mistake we will refund you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for one night while on a bike trip in provence. They stored the bikes in there garage with no problems. Cost was 64 for euros and it was a clean comfortable room. There is so much to see and do in Arles and this is the perfect location and price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
thank you,
For your encouragement and we hope to see you during next bike trip in Provence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The only negative thing about this hotel is that the WiFi is very problematic. If WiFi is important, then reconsider. However, if you want to be treated as family and be informed about the local activities, this is the place. Eric really trys to make your stay a pleasant one.
The location is great because it is very close to the main streets and few narrow ones are required to get there.
There are several good restaurants nearby as well as the all important laundromat.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite small but Eric will let you know. We had to stay in a very small room but it r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
thank you,
for your message, we hope that during your next visit with us, the internet will be better, following the amendment made on our network.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose to stay at Le Regence in Arles based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Before making the reservation we had some questions that we emailed back & forth & Eric answered almost immediately every time! The location of this hotel is perfect - you are across from the Rhone & a minutes walk into this wonderful town. The room & closet space is larger than some Hiltons we have stayed in - it is comfortable and afforded a wonderful view and it had a very nice newly renovated bathroom. The cleanliness of the room was exceptional!

Eric & his wife are the most gracious hosts! Everyday they asked where we were headed and when we arrived "home" they asked how our day was. They offered excellent restaurants in Arles - we were able to eat at 3 of them and they were outstanding! We were there during the Feria du Riz celebration and Eric suggested we might want to see/participate in some of the events. He explained each one to us and told us where to find them - we were thrilled that we had that opportunity to be part of a unique local festival that we would have known nothing about had it not been fro Eric.

We strongly disagree with every negative posting we have read. Breakfast was basic but it provided more than enough and was easy and convenient and served in a lovely breakfast from. The beds were very comfortable and there were absolutely no problems with coming into the hotel after the office was closed. Yes, the internet is poor but you're on VACATION? You can live without the internet for a few days. Yes, there is no lift and we also had very large luggage to carry - it was worth the effort!!!

We hope to get back to Arles in the next year or so because there is so much within Provence to see and this is a perfect base to explore from. We absolutely will be staying at Le Regence again and we would recommend it to everyone. If you are looking for a true Provence experience, relax and just enjoy what this wonderful hotel and town has to offer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regence, Gérant at Le Regence, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
thank you,
your message has made us really happy and drives us to continue in this direction.
Hoping to see you soon in our hotel.
Eric & Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean basic hotel. Free car parking.
The location is wonderful -- very close to the center of Arles, but quiet and private, with a lovely view of the Rhone; the hosts are warm and welcoming, and always happy to answer questions or provide help.
Be aware that room key can deactivate, can be problematic if you came back later then 9 pm.
dial 9 on the phone in hallway and owner will come and help you.

Room Tip: very very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regence

Address: 5 Rue Marius Jouveau, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#4 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regence 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two stars hotel, Regence hotel offers its international clientele both a pleasant and fonctional stay. Situated in the heart of the city, surrounded by free parking, visitors will find Arles monuments and museums within walking distance. The Regence hotel welcomes all visitors who which to discover Arles, the Camargue, the Provence, 16 bright and confortable rooms ranging from singles to quads at a very reasonable and economical price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Le Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regence Arles
Le Regence Hotel Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Regence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.