We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, friendly service, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuisine de Comptoir

Cuisine de Comptoir
10, rue de la Liberte | 13200, Arles, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 203 Restaurants in Arles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: contact@cuisinedecomptoir.com
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, friendly service, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tartines (open sandwhich) are lovely simple and fresh... Lots of interesting ones to choose from. I had smoked salmon with taramasalata which was a great combination. My husband had the duck, which was very good.. But his highlight was the gazpacho which was a special and absolutely delicious!

The decor is minimal and very stylish, the staff are really friendly and warm- providing a menu in English which was helpful.

This is much better value and quality and more interesting than the more touristy restaurants near the square. Highly recommend it. (Coffee was excellent!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arles, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here for dinner after reading about it in Rick Steve's guide. Had a very enjoyable meal here at a great price. The salad for entree was simple but delicious. My husband had the soup which he said was very tasty. The tartine sandwich was so fresh and more than enough for me. The entree comes included in the price of the tartine.excellent value for money. Friendly & efficient staff very clean inside. Highly recommend and would go back if we had the time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Tasty and stylish lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Cuisine du Comptoir has a formula for an enjoyable lunch. You get a choice of soup of the day or salad, then a choice of a bunch of open-faced sandwiches, a glass of wine, and a coffee -- all for one reasonable price. On the day we visited, the soup on offer was carrot, and it was good. We tried a tuna sandwich and a creamed cod sandwich. They came on crunchy, crusty toasted bread. The red wine they served was very fruity. The restaurant was airy and stylish and almost hidden by its door decoration. They played indie pop-rock like Grizzly Bear and Phoenix, and if there was a bet going, we’d wager that the staff all played in local bands. It was that kinda place. All in all, nothing to complain about here. It was very popular with both locals and tourists, so it can get busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We really liked this restaurant and I highly recommend it. we went for lunch and had a very good meal with fresh local products. Service is impeccable and the prices are reasonable too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop in Arles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Cuisine de Comptoir is located a few minutes walk from Place du Forum and offers a delightful and filling tartine lunch in Arles. For 13 EUR each, we had a large fresh salad, savory large tartine sandwich (many wonderful toppings to choose from), glass of wine, and a small coffee! Was just the fuel we needed for our busy afternoon of siteseeing, all the while with friendly service in a chic atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuisine de Comptoir also viewed

Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Cuisine de Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuisine de Comptoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.