We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with gracious service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porte de Camargue

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porte de Camargue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Porte de Camargue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Rue Noguier, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 hotels in Arles
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay here last June. The owner is gracious and charming, and was extremely helpful in recommending the best restaurants in the area (and in fact we had two of the best dinners of our trip because of his advice). The breakfast room is quiet and pleasant, and breakfast consisted of some excellent croissants, a small variety of individually packaged cheeses, cereal, yogurt, jam, and hot tea, coffee, or hot cocoa, served by the proprietors at our table. Some reviews found the rooms to be tired, but I found the decor charming and rustic. Nothing was brand new, but everything was clean and well cared-for, and the bathroom was one of the more spacious and comfortable we saw on our trip through France and Spain. No complaints. I would not recommend this hotel for a family with noisy children, as the overall feeling was peaceful and quiet, and they might be looked upon poorly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    86
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
107
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great, clean hotel. I wouldn't recommend for long stays, but we were there for 3 nights, and it was comfortable and clean. Breakfast is a bit more than just a continental breakfast, thus ample enough to last you until lunchtime at least. Very well located, and walking distance (if you are comfortable walking) from the old town and attractions. Parking is limited and not available on the premises (and do take a GPS, else you will have trouble finding the hotel). However, there are lots of street parking around the hotel. We struggled with wi-fi, and had to sit in the lobby to get wi-fi, but that was okay - we didn't NEED to be connected.

I can recommend this place as it is well priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here for a week in september. the hotel is basic ,but thats what i expected so no big surprise there. the couple that run the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. I really liked the location although it may not be to everyones taste but i found it extremely handy for walking to the centre which took 5 minutes and for getting out of the city to the camargue or avignon etc it was perfect and easy to navigate.The area is residential and very quiet at night and it has a village feel about it,with a supermarket, a bar and a couple of restaurants nearby if you want to stay local.The locals i found to be very friendly and helpful . The hotel itself is a little dull and stuck in a timewarp is probably a fair description, but thats ok as i said earlier ,i wasn't expecting a lot. there is a large roof terrace but sadly no bar....I think this would make a big difference.we ate breakfast only once in the hotel and it was fine but the rest of the time we went to cafe d'autrefois in Arles which was a real find.Would i stay here again? probably not, but if you are on a budget it will be hard to find a better value place to stay than this in Arles.it is what it is so if you want a little bit of luxury its not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We slept one night at the hotel Porte de Camargue. The room was just OK and I don't really understand the great TA reviews. During our stay there was no wifi in the rooms. The new owner (since August) explained that he switched provider and that this should be fixed soon. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the centre and it is fairly easy to find free parking around. On the positive side prices were good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel is well situated on the other side of the river but an easy walk to all the sites. It is in a quiet area. Friendly reception and helpful. rooms are a nice size and clean and comfortable. breakfast was excellent. We really felt we got good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Welcoming staff. We were given room immediately even though we arrived at 10.30am.
Delightful reception area with computer.
Situation. A short walk over the bridge to the historic centre of Arles. Lovely quiet spot by river. Roof terrace. Staff very willing and booked taxi for us. Breakfast with fresh fruit. On bus route to Camargue

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the reviews I'd read on tripadvisor while planning our trip to France..
and this is the first time I've been so disappointed..
I'm good with simple, clean and "great value" for the price, but, I was a bit shocked by the state of our room. The carpet (which looked like carpet underlay) was worn right through to the floor. When I was taking the bed cover off I noticed large dark stains on the white underside, the mattresses crunched when you lay on them as if covered in plastic, the sheets were clean and pressed but so thin in spots that there were holes in them...the shower curtain needed to be washed badly, the bottom edge was stained and it had what appeared to be blood stains or black mold? These were the things I could see...which started to creep me out about the things I could not see!!
Our hosts were very agreeable, the breakfast was good, the location of the hotel was across a bridge from the old town, which was a nice walk.
Would I recommend this hotel to family and friends? NO, I'm sorry, I would be embarrassed to send them there.

Room Tip: I can not recommend any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
Best Value, Bud...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acacias
Hotel Acacias
#10 of 57 in Arles
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Suites, Pets Al...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
Best Value, 2-s...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Musee
Hotel Du Musee
#7 of 57 in Arles
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Le Regence
Le Regence
#6 of 57 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#3 of 57 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte de Camargue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte de Camargue

Address: 15 Rue Noguier, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 57 hotels in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porte de Camargue 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Porte de Camargue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porte De Camargue Arles
Porte De Camargue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porte de Camargue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.