We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel but service can be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De L'Amphitheatre to your Saves list
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-7, rue Diderot, 13200 Arles, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Arles
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming hotel but service can be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Charming boutique hotel set in a beautiful historical building. Rooms are decent. Clean. Dated furnishings but expect that's in line with the general feel of the hotel.

We had some trouble locating it in the car though given the narrow streets of Arles. Went round and round until we finally parked at the big public multi-storey car park and lugged our luggage there. Found out there's a small open air car park just round the corner.

Service wasn't great when we checked in. We were 3 ladies travelling with 3 huge luggages with room on the 2nd floor and no lift. No help was proffered to help us carry the luggage up by the guy who checked us it - in fact he was rather brusque throughout the whole check-in process including not telling us about the nearer car park when my friend went to ask on foot how to navigate there in car. On check out though we were met with much nicer guy who helped us with the luggage and waved us off with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    142
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
271
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed there for two nights, and found the hotel to be quite charming, with a very good (but at 8 euros perhaps a little expensive) breakfast. The building itself is old, but has been nicely renovated on the inside. My room had a clean and new-looking bathroom. The only downside is that, on the second morning, I woke up with several groups of very itchy bites on my legs and butt; they were all in groups of three, and I suspect that they were made by bed bugs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontorson, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I was surprised beyond measure with the hotel, tucked inconspicuously down a side street just off from the amphitheater.

It is a truly lovely, carefully kept *boutique*, if you will, two star hotel. Full of the colors of the south of France, beautifully/tastefully decorated... I even said to the owner, you are more of a three star than two...I loved it.

There was one standout that could use improvement...the petite dejeuner is too tight...too sparse. If they laid out a buffet breakfast with standard choice? Like yogurt, muesli, eggs, fruit, croissants, etc? It would completely take it over the top.
But if you know that ahead of time, you dont have to get it in the first place!

As it is, it is way too tightly controlled, thslept beautifully presented.

NOT to mention, I slept great in a very comfortable bed with crisp, fresh sheets.

I will return again and again. Thank you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. The positives: It is in the heart of the city, close to everything; the public areas (lobby, courtyard, dining room, etc) are very charming and nicely decorated; it has been renovated. I had high expectations due to all the good reviews I read. However, upon arrival, we found that our room was somehwat disappointing. It was tiny, fit only a double bed (not a queen bed) and that's about it. It's good that both my husband and I are skinny people, or I would imagine there would be trouble fitting two people comfortably on that bed. There is no extra space to maneuver in the room otherwise. The bathroom was also very small, and it had a tiny shower with curtain that does not keep water in, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet when you take a shower. Hot water is plentiful though. This room was the smallest of all of our hotel/B&B rooms we booked on our 16 day trip to France and Italy, and it was probably the least comfortable. Its size was equivalent to the tiny hotel rooms we find in big cities like Seoul or Tokyo, where space is premium. If you are only staying one or two nights in a room this size, it is probably ok. Otherwise, get something bigger.

Although the hotel is in the city center, it is located on a quiet street, and the windows are double paned. We did not have any trouble with noise at all even with the window open all night. The room gets quite stuffy when the windows are not opened.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Would stay again. Clean, friendly, spatious. For the price it is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a very charming and characterful hotel with an artistic ambience, very much in keeping with the area of Arles in which it is situated. I felt at home as soon as I arrived for a 6-night stay, and comfortable throughout. The B&B hotel is a stone's throw from the Place de l'Amphitheatre which has a good choice of affordable restaurants for dinner. There is no side street parking close by, and arriving in what seemed like a maze of narrow streets was a bit daunting; but front desk advised me on where there is free parking within walking distance except on market days. French breakfast is 8 euros. The staff were pleasant and helpful, room very clean with nice en-suite, and free wi-fi was a plus. The only minus point for me was no tea or coffee making faciilities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at Hotel De L'Amphitheatre at the first week of May. The hotel is situated at the center of the old city and is a walking distance from the main restaurants area and from the local sights. The hotel loby and dining area is classy although can be a bit stuffy at night. The room I slept in was small, suitable for one person but crowded for a couple. The shower was also very small for my taste. the room was very clean and nicely furnished.
Altogether a very nice and decently priced hotel for your stay in Arles.

Just a heads-up. It is preferable not to aproach by car as the city streets can be very narrow. There are good parking locations a walking distance away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De L'Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De L'Amphitheatre

Address: 5-7, rue Diderot, 13200 Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#3 Family Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De L'Amphitheatre 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De L'Amphitheatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Amphitheatre
De l Amphitheatre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De L'Amphitheatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.