We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very worthwhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Reattu

Musee Reattu
10 rue du Grand-Prieure, Arles, France
04-90-49-37-58
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Attractions in Arles
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“very worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

great collection and of course the building itself is astounding. very beautiful surroundings in which to view art. relaxing and fun. don't forget that the first sunday of every month is free entry for all museums!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    15
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern and old art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A good place to see Reattu, Piccaso and others as well as some modern art. It followed a logical pathway through the rooms and was not too large to see when visiting other places of interest in the city.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quirky museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

When we visited they were hosting a modern art exhibition which my son loved ( he ended up explaining the art to me on some of them as I could not figure out what it was !)
Spent a very entertaining couple of hours here. For children and for those young at heart they had two large bronze gongs which you were encouraged to hit .There were also other interactive activities that you could take part in.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot, Virginia
1 review
“The Emperor's New Clothes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This review pertains to the current "Nuages" exhibit at this museum. Almost the entire permanent collection was removed to make room for this special exhibit. I must admit that contemporary art is not my bag. However, this exhibit brings the genre to a record low. I wish I could have heard the curator's talk. How in the world could anyone defend this nonsense? If the mark of artistic sophistication is to "oooo" and "ahhhh" over installations that are reminiscent of a shoddy freshmen foundations art class then this exhibit is a prime example. At some point the viewer must see the work for what it truly is: an embarrassing joke. Shame on the curator. Shame on the museum. To think we had to pay an extra 3 euros on top of the cost of the museum pass to enter! I gave this museum a "2" because it is located in a beautiful old building and has the potential to be a wonderful little museum. It is a wonder that anyone could bring together 56 different artists with such abysmally poor works. Skip this one unless you are into self flagellation.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Interesting Building with Great Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the museum when the permanent collection was not on view - a great disappointment. At that time modern art was dispersed throughout the museum. The exhibition was well put together which made it easy to navigate the building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Reattu also viewed

 
Arles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Musee Reattu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Reattu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.