We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Calendel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spa Le Calendal to your Saves list
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Le Calendel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

An outstanding 3 star hotel with the friendliest and most helpful staff. It is situated adjacent to the Roman Amphitheatre in the old town and offers access to some wonderful restaurants, shopping and an incredible Saturday market. This is the kind of hotel, rooms and setting that is difficult to come across by accident. It is a family run business and even has a Spa looking out on the Roman Arena which is free for hotel guests

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customers,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel Le Calendal.

The hotel is located in the city center and everything is in walking distance. After wandering in the city all day the SPA is the place to go and relax.

The SPA is open everyday from 8am to 8pm ( reserved only to adults).

We hope you have the possibility to come back to Arles and visit us, meanwhile don’t forget to become a fan of the Hotel Le Calendal on our facebook page!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    281
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
175
432
44
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were on a Collette Tour and spent three nights at Le Calendal in Arles. We found this place to be "top notch" from the time we arrived and until we left. The staff at reception were very helpful with any question we might ask. They gave us typed list of various restaurants in and offered to make reservations for us. They also provided information on sites to see. The hotel is located next door to the Roman Arena and Amphitheater. The main square is a short walk from the hotel as are other sites. So, the location is very good. The breakfast was very good and the offerings were plentiful. I also noted while we were at hotel a Rick Steve's tour group had arrived. They also operate a 24/7 cafe in the hotel lobby with drinks/sandwiches/french pastries and I noticed many locals stopping in for something from the lobby cafe. This hotel is a very tourist friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this wonderful and detailed comment on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to share your experience with us! It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed every bit of the hotel and its location.

The bar of the hotel is open 24/7 if ever you do want to have something to drink or something to eat. The hotel is located in the city center as you mentioned. All the monuments and sites are in walking distance.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel, meanwhile don’t forget to become fan of our facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hey just check out what was said by msm55. I agree completely. It was by accident that we landed at this hotel for 2 nights. A cafe au lait can do great things for you. While sipping a cup decided to ask the cost of the room and if available. Checked out of the Best Western and landed in Le Calendal. The staff did this place justice, they were over the top. Great team. Go back often.

Room Tip: Can't help on this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Customers,

What a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your impressions about the hotel Le Calendal .

We are happy to read that a Café au lait made you change hotels and spend two nights with us.

We hope to see you soon in a next trip to Arles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is a true find. Excellent location next to the Roman Amphitheater. Staff was very helpful, warm and efficient. Breakfast was a delicious buffet that was top notch. Their outdoor private garden was a a delightful respite area that is very special. I would recommend this hotel without reservation and look forward to returning someday in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment that you have left. It is a real pleasure to read that you were satisfied by the environment and the services of the hotel.
Thank you for mentioning that the staff was helpful, they will be notified right away.
It is always very encouraging for the staff.
We hope to see you very soon for your next visit in Arles.
Meanwhile don’t forget to follow us on our facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our recent stay was our third at Le Calendal. We keep returning because of the staff, the location, the food, and the special attention which they provide. They have several computers and printers for guest use in the lobby and their parking garage in a mid-evil city was very good. The rooms were spacious, bright, and had all the necessary amenities. We even had a deck with lounge chairs to enjoy the cool breezes at night. The staff could not have been more friendly. Audrey called in reservations for us at Le Criquet and Le Tropical, both excellent restaurants within a block of the hotel. Everyone made our stay, once again, comfortable and very enjoyable. Le Calendal is the best and we will return again!

Room Tip: get a room on a lower floor-the stairs are tough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Customers,
It is such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your third stay with us and sharing it on Trip advisor.

Thank you very much for congratulating our staff, they will be notified right away.

We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Don’t forget to become a fan on our facebook page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Difficult to find even with GPS. minimal parking at hotel front to unload luggage. Then a long drive to covered parking, provided by hotel at no charge. Then the walk back to hotel not that difficult. However if you have difficulty walking or medical condition this may be a challenge. Overall room was clean until we noticed the dirty floor in the bathroom behind the door. then we had a hard time thinking the place was clean. The breakfast was not worth the money, perhaps it was 13€. The selection and quality poor. Overall the staff was polite and courteous. but they were not happy when we checked out after one night when we had a reservation the for 2 nights. They recommended a restaurant Le 16 for dinner which was very good. The city of Arles, we thought was very dirty. We love Provence, but this hotel and this city did not work for us!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front of the hotel overlooking the coliseum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impression about the hotel and the city of Arles during your stay.
Parking is located in less then 300 meters from the hotel. You advantage of a special rate, because the parking is at 8 euros the day.

A member of the staff comes with you to show you the way to the hotel by car and the way back to the hotel by walking.

We are confused to read that you had a hard time thinking the hotel was clean after noticing that the room was not clean. We are going to supervise more closely the cleaning of our rooms and lobby.

Breakfast is 12 euros per person and it’s optional you chose the morning if you would like to take it or not. We will also look closer to the products and try will do are best to fit everybody’s tast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We saw this 46 roomed hotel last year and came back to stay here. The reception was staffed by a very helpful American student who went with my husband to show where the hotel had car parking spaces. All the staff we saw were smiley and courteous. The hotel is well set out inside and out with two outside areas, one in front where one can while away the time with a choice of food and drink from the cafe and bar, and another garden area with parasols at the back, where the Spa is located, which is where breakfast was served. The snacks and breakfast were very good, such a pity they do not serve evening meals. However there are several restaurants in the same street and also some more touristy ones round the corner opposite the amphitheatre. Our room was at the back and contained 1 double and 1 single bed. It was large with a good-sized ensuite and air-conditioning but I would say needs updating to be in keeping with the ground floor. The theatre, amphitheatre and excellent market are all very close-by. We paid 111 euros for room only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Customers,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Calendal on your recent stay in Arles. Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip advisor, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for congratulating our staff; they will be notified straight away.
The bar that is located in the lobby is open 24/7 for the guests of the hotel, where you can have something to drink or eat. The SPA is located threw the garden and open everyday from 8am to 8pm, reserved only to adults (+18 years old). A special moment where you can relax. The hotel chose not to serve evening meals in the hotel and this for the quietness.
The hotel has rooms looking over the garden, and would not want to disturbe its customers.
We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Arles, meanwhile don’t forget to become a fan of our hotel on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arles
#2 Business Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. A "restaurant d'été" with provencal dishes is open in season from mid march till mid october at lunch . The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa Le Calendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.