We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spa Le Calendal to your Saves list
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Arles
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding value, location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

One of my all time favorite European hotels. Location a few yards from both the Coleseum and amphitheater in Arles with a great casual food snack bar out front, we simply loved it. The staff were all friendly and professional. Stay here in Arles vs. bigger Avignon.

Jack Duffy

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    306
    59
    18
    9
See reviews for
194
465
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The location is fantastic and the staff are very friendly and very helpful. The renovated reception and dining areas are far above what you might normally expect for this kind of hotel.

The only negative point was the very expensive breakfast.

Although it is made clear at the start that a basic breakfast is available, the basic breakfast is not really an option when you have children with you so you have to opt for the (excellent) full buffet. The cost of the buffet is too high for adults but as there is no reduction for children it really adds to the cost of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlesCalendal, Manager at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Hello and thank you for your commentary on TripAdvisor !
We have noted that you found the full breakfast expensive at 12euros but even though "excellent".
Our croissants and pain au chocolat are freshly made and our breads come from a "typical" baker and not from frozen items.
Also we try to have a large part of breakfast with organic products which still cost much more in France to buy!
Finally, we also just wanted to add that there is a children price at 50% at 6 euros for children from the range of 4 till 10 years of age. Unfortunately , you were travelling with teenagers that in effect are charged the 12 euros rate.
We are keeping in mind your commentary on the value for money of the full breakfast buffet and even so would be very happy to greet you again in Arles and at LE CALENDAL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Le Calendal was the perfect hotel with a room overlooking the Roman Colesseum, room for three, delicious breakfast, and most helpful and kind staff members. The hotel lobby is chic and lively. Check out the two perpetual motion sculptures there. Very fun and beautiful. Having internet access was handy, as was being in the middle of Arles. We so appreciated talking to the delightful owner who steered us to just the right places to visit. We spent 16 days in the south of France and this was one of our favorite places to stay. Nick the bartender was terrific!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

What an excellent recommendation from trip Advisor. Staff really friendly and helpful. Spoke excellent English. Wonderful location overlooking Roman Theatre. Great Spa. Breakfast v good. Lovely restaurants within yards ( or metres!!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Wonderfully situated in Arles, in walking distance of everything, with views of the theatre antique and the colosseum; comfortable spa; good food and wine at the cafe; wonderful restaurants very near by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles, France
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I have been coming back and forth from the States to Arles for almost 10 years.... Everytme I come this is the place to stay.... It's location is perfect. Right in Center of Old Arles.. Just footsteps away from the Roman amphetheatre and the Theatre Antique... Also with in short walking distances to great shopping and dining experiences.... The staff here is wonderful and very helpful most if not all of them are multilingual, which helps when you are here for the first time and you only speak a little french if any...
The rooms are clean and roomy and tastefully decorated in traditional provencal decor... during the summer they have fantastic restaurant in their beautiful back garden.. It truly is a wonderful place to stay.... You will feel as though you really never left home....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My family (2 young children) were able to enjoy our time in this amazing city. The rooms were very clean, uniquely decorated, contained the charm we expected from Southern France plus the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location can not be matched if you want to be in the center of town, plus the breakfast buffet was well worth price. Finally the hotel had a small area for our children to play in while we chatted as a couple over a coffee. We will return again this Spring.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Forum
Hotel du Forum
#1 of 58 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Particulier
Hotel Particulier
#9 of 58 in Arles
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour
BEST WESTERN Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Business Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SPA LE Calendal in Arles ideally located between the Antic Theater and Amphitheater, in historical center. A charming hotel, comfortable and stylish. A "restaurant d'été" with provencal dishes is open in season from mid march till mid october at lunch . The Spa Aux Bains du Calendal offers roman baths and roman ambiance (adults only +18 years old). Hot Bath - massage shower and Hammam. Large variety of massages also available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa Le Calendal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.