We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Arles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel le Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel le Belvedere
5 place Voltaire, 13200 Arles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Arles
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A week in Arles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Superb town to visit. Along with a [rushed] trip to Pont du Gard and a day in Avignon, we found plenty of things to interest us during a week's stay. Roman arena and Roman theatre probably stand out most along with links to Van Gogh and his many paintings of the town. Restaurants/cafes abound...though prices in France could not be described as cheap. Can be windy due to mistral, blew for three days while we were there...didn't spoil holiday, though. Most enjoyable stay...choice of hotel had a lot to do with the success of the visit.

Room Tip: Ours was large room on first floor. Having a balcony was a great way of enjoying the atmosphere in P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    41
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The location for this hotel is great, handy to the amphitheatre etc. We were lucky with our room which faced the square, as there was a small balcony to sit in. The room was quite big with a king sized bed. Good AC. The bathroom worked well and obviously has been upgraded recently. Parking was near by in a public car park for free. The breakfasts were of good value. The only downside was the stairs. We were in room 23 so second floor to carry the bags. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Would stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the train station, but still inside the city center, a short walk to the sites. Overlooking a square lined with cafes and restaurants, the hotel is in a part of town that feels pretty "student-y".

The rooms are OK--small and sparse. The bathroom was small and mostly functional, with a few quirks. The price was very reasonable.

While we were comfortable with our stay, if you're looking for charm, you may want to consider other options further in the old town. No major problems, but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Belvedere is perfectly situated in the old town on place de Voltaire. My balcony overlooks the square. There's also a beautiful patisserie around the corner. And it's within walking distance from bus and train. Bus is closer.

The room itself is very small, but it has a king size bed, which means there is barely room to walk around it! The bed, however, is very comfortable. There is a television, reverse cycle air conditioning and the bathroom is en suite.

It's not an expensive hotel, and if you don't mind a bit of a squeeze, I recommend it.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how many rooms have a balcony but it's very nice to have. Maybe ask for oom it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The place is well located, just a stone's throw from the Amphitheatre. There are also a lot of eating places nearby, along with a big Monoprix store to buy any necessities from. The room was a bit small, but more than enough if you are travelling alone. There's no lift, so, if you have a lot of luggage, request for a room in the first floor itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel was modern and well located near the train station. It was on a square with restaurants, near the Monoprix supermarket and walking distance to the Roman theater, the Saturday markets and the river. The facilities were quite good and the staff helpful but the walls were very thin and you could hear everything going on in the adjoining rooms. Breakfast was reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the square could be noisy in the busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My fiance and I stopped in Arles via on our way to Barcelona. The city was great and this hotel is within short walking distance from the train station. The location of the hotel was great. There are multiple restaurants right outside the door and it's in the city center. You can walk to all of the places you'd probably want to visit. The hotel also had free internet which was nice. The router must be down in the lobby because the signal is weak at times, but it still worked most of the time.

From the outside and the lobby the hotel looks inviting, but we were pretty dissatisfied once we arrived in our room. The bed was not comfortable at all, the bathroom was REALLY dirty (it looked like there were fecal stains around the inside of the toilet,) and the bathroom smelled like a septic tank. It was disgusting. We're not too picky about things but it was enough to make my fiance and I want to switch hotels and find something else. Unfortunately, we had booked the hotel through priceline.com and the hotel was unable to refund our money since that was the last room. The front desk clerk called priceline to let them know that they could show an opening for a room on their website, but unless it got booked we wouldn't be able to get our money back. It never got booked so we stayed all 3 nights at the hotel. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room but when we did, it was best to avoid going into the bathroom. If the smell was fixed, the bed was a little more comfortable, and it was a little cleaner this would have been the perfect hotel.

If you're not sure if you want to visit Arles...you really should. It's an amazing city with a lot of history.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel. There may not be much of a difference in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Belvedere

Address: 5 place Voltaire, 13200 Arles, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.