We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte Anne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sainte Anne to your Saves list
Hotel Sainte Anne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Place Faubourg Du Ballet, 84400 Apt, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Apt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Simple, but well furnished and comfortable, this was a perfect place to spend two nights before we took up our week rental in the area around Apt. Since we are familiar with the area and have our favorite cafes we resisted the hard sell for breakfast. This is a simple place but fairly good value and worth a few nights stay while exploring lovely Apt and its surrounds.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel is located outside of Apt city center and thus calm, parkings are located directly infront of the house. These are the positive facts.

The breakfast was strongly advertised by the hotel provider - we felt pushed to book the breakfast on top. He promoted “it is very different from regular hotel breakfasts, most food is house-made”. What a disappointment!! The Croissants seem to be frozen-ready and simply heated up. The cerials are filled in sad-looking plastic stands. The (self-made?) bread tasts like nothing - we know such tasteless bread only from cheap budget-bakeries. No fresh orange juice but supermarket juice. We were not even offered to have breakfast on the terrace but had to eat in the dark morning room. No music, no athmosphere. And no service on the table - they did not even offer coffee on our table -- instead coffee is waiting on a heating plate on the buffet. We have seen 5 different hotels and bed&breakfasts in this trip and ALL were by far better than this one. Safe you money.

Most disappointing was that the hotel provider had forgotten our room reservation: We have booked a special room (205, the best comfort room) but he had not noted this. Our room was already taken! So when we arrived, he offered us only another room (104) and did not even apologize!!! The big disadvantage: Room 104 is on the first floor and you can hear everything from the hallway and the rooms above this way.

To sum it up: We have seen many hotels and B&B on our tour but this one was the worst. An apology due to the booking mistake was missing. It feels overpriced here - ok for one night, not more. Do not book the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I booked the Ste. Anne after a nearby hotel closed abruptly and canceled our reservation (April 2012). We were seven people in four rooms. The welcome from Daniel and Véronique was warm and genuine, the rooms were comfortable and the location, just outside the confines of old Apt, was perfect. The Ste. Anne lived up to and even exceeded my expectations. I knew going in there is no elevator, but Daniel effortlessly carried our luggage up one or two flights, then did the reverse when we checked out. This is a nicely decorated, old-fashioned French hotel (with Wifi!) full of charm. I hope to be able to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I really can't say anything bad about this hotel as it was perfect in every way. We had the top floor room to the left of the winding stairway which went down to the breakfast room where we had a wonderful breakfast the four mornings we were there. Our room was lovely with a fireplace, queen size comfortable bed, armroire for our clothes and two nice comfortable chairs and table to finish off a bottle of wine and cheese with fruit before going to bed. The bathroom was new and large and well placed with what was needed for our stay. There was even a french chandelier on the bedroom ceiling along with a big mirror over the fireplace.

The breakfast was more then adequate and the owner made fresh breads every day. The breads were really delicious. The owners couldn't have been more accomodating and spoke good English --wife better English skills then her husband. There was a ten euro charge for breakfast every day with unlimited food and coffee. You couldn't have found anything this nice in one of Apt's restaurants when looking for breakfast for the price.

The hotel had been totally redone by the owners and was a beautiful old home with French architectural flair. It was very clean and in the warmer weather had a nice patio in the back of the breakfast room for its guests. It was located in a beautiful area with many fine old homes decked in flowers. The owners referred us to two good restaurants. One was so good that we ate there three nights in a row. We would have eaten there another night but it was closed that evening. But there is always a Chinese/Vietnamese restaurant in Apt to fill the void on those nights.

The Hotel's location was perfect with parking nearby for those who are driving. It was right across the small river by a beautiful old bridge to the main downtown and center of Apt. We choose Apt as it is really the gateway to the Luberon villages where we went with friends every day after breakfast. On Saturday, the town of Apt has the most wonderful Market and it is within easy walking distance from the hotel. This Market shouldn't be missed if you are there on a weekend day.

I guess the only fault of the hotel is that they didn't have an elevator. But, the owner will take your bags up and down the stairs for you so this wasn't a problem when we checked in. Besides, there really wasn't any room for an elevator with the beautiful winding staircase from the 1st to 3rd floors and all the art work on the walls to look at as you go up and down the stairs. Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to stay at this hotel again when visiting our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the brochure. We are prejudice as that was ours.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for two nights in early August and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The b&b is clean and charming and so was our cheery, spatious room and bathroom. Veronique is the lovliest woman. She and her delightfully funny husband Daniel were so welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Their English is wonderful, a relief for us, since pur French is not. They were very helful in giving us directions, recommendations and in helping us rent a car. We also really enjoyed having Veronique's delicious homemade breads and apricot lavender and cherry preserves for breakfast in their gorgeous little courtyard - heavenly! She and Daniel really go the extra mile to assure that your stay is comfortable and beautiful. There is not a great deal to see in Apt (we were interested in visiting Lourmarin, Bonnieux, Gordes and other little villages, which we did, though we enjoyed spending a little time exploring Apt. Bit you definitely need to rent a car to travel around to see these other towns and explore the gorgeous countryside. I couldn't recommend Hotel Saint Anne any more, definitely a wonderful place to stay - would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I found this hotel through TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.
I had read reviews about this place and they were right on the money
We (me and my wife) stayed there for one night , and it was a wonderful
experience for us. Staff was very helpful , friendly unlike most other
people we met in France (Paris especially). They also speak and understand
english quite well. We would definitely recomend this place for other travellers

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way back from western Provence to Nice.

It is a cosy n clean little hotel, very conveniently located, with free parking just in front. The Saturday market was just across the bridge from the hotel- very convenient.

The proprietor n his wife were very friendly and made good effort to converse with us in English.

Breakfast was simple but yummy. The homemade bread n different types of jams were marvellous! I'm still thinking about them....

The room was simply decorated and clean, but it's not luxurious or what I would call charming. Overall, if I had to be in Apt again, I would consider returning, but I wouldn't make a special trip back just to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Anne

Address: 62 Place Faubourg Du Ballet, 84400 Apt, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Apt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sainte Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sainte Anne Hotel, a 19th century family home located on the Faubourg du ballet plaza of Apt's quiet historical old town, is opening its doors after a complete renovation. We are pleased to welcome our guests in our 7 unique, comfort-conscious rooms, overlooking the rooftops of Apt...Safely tucked away from the hustle and bustle of city life, the hotel is within easy reach of Apt's commercial centre via the Luberon footbridge, which carries you across the river. If you enjoy sport, the hotel is also the ideal starting point for the region's many hiking and biking paths...The rooms : The Sainte Anne Hotel offers three different categories of double rooms. Ensuring comfort, calm and friendliness is our priority, so that your stay will be as pleasant as possible. Services : Free parking, tourist information on the region, free WIFI, hair dryer, telephone and LCD flat panel television in all rooms. Rooms are soundproofed and air-conditioned. Meeting room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sainte Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sainte Anne Apt, France - Luberon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.