We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of COTE COUR

COTE COUR
19, Cours Mirabeau, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France
04 42 93 12 51
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 576 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Price range: $31 - $86
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A good place for a food that is not sofisticated. with such place in the middle of cours mirabeau, we could have expected an effort from the tenant. don't expect to fine house made stuff, on the other hand the choice is large.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    118
    66
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Visited because we are ardent Top Chef fans. Went for lunch. The place is not large but manages to convey stylish glamour and an intimate dining experience. Everything we had was wonderful--plated tastefully and was sumptuous. We both did the 3 course prix fixe and were pleased with the choices. The dessert was an enormous macaron with fresh mango purée--to die for! It was a bit pricey but worth it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Trying but not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Been there twice. First time very good. Second time good. The service has been good both times but I have not been there when they are flat out. The second time I booked over the phone and the guy taking the booking didn't write it in. He was a dick and wasn't listening. I could tell he was busy. It's a bit hit and miss this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good trendy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Quite innovative food in a quiet place yet next to cours Mirabeau
A bit pricey but delicious
Wine list is interesting
Better to book as often full

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“overpriced, average food and terrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Overall, a terrible dining experience.
Food: Average and overpriced, although presentation is good. Foie Gras entree (27 Euros) was very disappointing, the foie gras was overcooked and not as smooth as it should be. i've tasted much better foie gras out of France. The rib eye steak was dry and very tough. The crystallised beef was too dry, it felt like i was eating ribs. Side salad was wet and limp, nothing you would expect from Provence.
Setting: Slightly tacky, gimmicky interior. What seemed like makeshift wooden floors- which made the staff walking across sound like they're stomping. The seating/tables are all too close together, so much so that people who had to use to toilet had to squeeze and walk sideways in between my table and the one next to mine.
Service: Atrocious, from the beginning to the end. The overpriced food would've been bearable, if the service was decent, which it was not. Throughout the whole night, the service was bad. At the end of the night, we wanted to enquire about something on our bill. The waitress simply walked off without saying anything, we called a second waitress over and asked her the same question, she too walked away without a word. Finally, after 10 minutes of being ignored, we decided to skip the dessert that we had already paid for, walked to the counter and told the waiter/ matreed about the waitresses attitudes, he gave us a blank and dismissive look. My father said "we did not enjoy the food, the service was really bad, and i'm not happy", to which the waiter replied very curtly, "I am also not happy. Maybe our food is not for you, it's not the same as in China." (we are not from China). Overall, the way the staff handled and responded to our feedback/ complaints was appalling. Truly my worst dining experience in Europe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed COTE COUR also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to COTE COUR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COTE COUR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.