We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as expected for the most famous tourist restaurant in Aix” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Deux Garcons

Les Deux Garcons
53 Cours Mirabeau, 13000 Aix-en-Provence, France
04 42 26 00 51
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 576 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“About as expected for the most famous tourist restaurant in Aix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

No visit to Aix would be complete without stopping by the city's oldest cafe, where Cezanne and Zola convened; but it really IS a tourist trap, like many of the bistros & brasseries on the Cours Mirabeau. The menu is expensive & not very memorable: spaghetti Bolonaise and fish & chips seemed to be the best-sellers. But the sidewalk tables offer a nice spot for people-watching, and a stroll inside (even just to use the toilets) reveals a beautiful restaurant with character and ambience. My recommendation: try it for a quick coffee, then go elsewhere to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    105
    113
    78
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not rushed, good food and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch during the midday rush, after being recommended to the venue in our guide book. Atmosphere seemed good, so convinced us to give it a go. Waiter was a little stressed, but quickly warmed up. We all get stressed, right? In the meantime, the maitre 'd was full of cheer. Both of us had two courses + wine and coffee, and all were good and reasonably priced (based on typical costs in the area). We enjoyed a completely unrushed meal, despite there being several folk having to be turned away. The indoor restaurant is also very well decorated and worth a look.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On a business trip with a colleague from the UK and 2 colleagues based in France and it was my French colleagues who recommended Les Deux Garcons. I have to say I was extremely pleased with their recommendation. The Steak was well cooked (normally it is very, very rare in France) and tender, which went down well with a decent bottle of red wine. The waiter was very attentive and the food was pretty quick in coming to the table. We sat outside and although late in the evening it was still warm enough.The menus are also subtitled in English.....which helped. Cost for 4 people with wine approx 230 euros......which I thought was OK for the standard of food and the setting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appaling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

1) Waiter was very arrogant, didn't look at us when we talked to him. Didn't understand english, but didn't really make an effort
2) Waited so long. It was in the middle of the day, so there wasn't that many guests. We ordered two banana splits and one lemon tart. After ordering, we waited for 30 - 45 min...
3) Inside of the place smelled like urine and was dirty. We sat outside, but had to go inside to go to the restroom, which was dirty and disgusting.
4) The food was horrible. Both of the banana splits consisted of banana, cream and MELTED ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I recommend you the pepite the calamar a la provencale, a very goo dish, waiters are a bit familiar though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Deux Garcons also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Les Deux Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Deux Garcons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.