We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise + Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise + Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a GEM of a hotel! Perfect choice to enjoy this charming French town! With such a great deal on the room, I wasn't sure to expect... Our "prestige double" room was beautiful & bright, with a comfy king size bed, large walk in closet and lovely balconet that opened onto the lively pedestrian square. Breakfast was nothing special, self-serve and a little chaotic. Perfect location for exploring the best area in Aix on foot. Would definitely reserve here again.

Room Tip: We loved our Prestige room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
54
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here and it was lovely. The room was on the third floor, with a view out onto the street, and it was presented beautifully. The location is perfect for exploring Aix en Provence as it is so central, right in the heart of the town, close to many cool shops and restaurants. The service was also fantastic - the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive to all of our needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked a 7 night stay at the Hotel de France from 7th to 13th July. On arrival we were shown to a room that can only be described as a shoe box, I didn't think it was possible for a hotel to carve up it's rooms to this extent my partner and I could not walk around the bed, we couldn't unpack our two suitcases as there was no wardrobe and we had no where to put our suitcases but on the bed as there was no floor space!

Our first night at the Hotel in 32o heat was unbearably hot without the air conditioning we had been promised and paid for, we did not sleep all night because of the broken ac unit, when we complained they brought up an industrial sized fan which wouldn't fit into our tiny room. The next morning we complained but were greeted by an arrogant older gentleman who told us that 7 rooms had no air conditioning because it was all out of order. We asked to be moved to a room with ac but were told that that would mean an upgrade and they would charge us extra! unbelievably rude, discourteous, disinterested and not at all bothered by the fact that we had no air conditioning in our miniscule room. My partner asked to speak to the (absentee) manager but was told that he was uncontactable.

Subsequetly we had to spend the first day of our week in Aix traipsing around the city looking for alternative accommodation, we had chosen to stay in Aix during festival week which meant there was hardly any accommodation to be had, as a subsequence we stayed at the wonderful AUGUSTINE HOTEL just minutes from the Hotel de France for 3 nights, LE MANOIR for 2 nights and the fabulous HOTEL CARDINALE for 1 night, a very convoluted week of packing and unpacking - each ont of these hotels were beautifully decorated, spacious with air conditioning (apart from Le Manoir) and the staff at each hotel were fabulously helpful, kind and understanding, they all did their best to make sure our week in Aix was not a total write off.

DON'T STAY AT THE HOTEL DE FRANCE as its rooms are ridiculously small, there is no customer service, the absent manager (who is not based at the hotel) refuses to appear to deal with customer complaints and generally it is the poorest hotel I've ever had the misfortune to waste a night in.

Room Tip: THERE ARE NO GOOD ROOMS! seven have broken air conditioning systems - you will roast alive and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I has the chance to spend two nights at Hotel de France. It is very nice and very confortable. They give us a new room (just restored) on the 3rd floor. The salon where the Guest can have breakfast in the morning is marvelous. Everywhere there is the wi fi service. During my stay some people were working everywhere in the hotel for the maintenance, but only during the day not after 5
Pm. I think they will finish soon this. The location of the hotel is centrally located. I liked this. The small square on which the hotel is situated , during the day and night is always full of people sitting on tables drinking aperitifs.
A very nice place to stay. Rates are a litte bit high, but in Aix en Provence is diffucult to find a 3stars hotel centrally located with budget rates.

Room Tip: Ask rooms in the back not on the square, could be' very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Aix en provence is a beautiful charming town and therefore we wanted a small charming hotel at a reasonable price. We stayed in Hotel de France for 2 nights while they were renovating and it was perfect. We haven't been bothered by the renovations at all. The hotel entrance is not very spectacular but the room is very clean, cosy and charming. The location of the hotel is fantastic and there are even parking spaces around. The receptionists are very kind and very helpfull as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows in the interior garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is good. We had a room with a view overlooking a small plaza. Unfortunately there is a pub below the room and 3 or 4 restaurants in the plaza, all open until late in the evening. Ear plugs are a must since the noise went on till after 2:00 AM (no sound proofing).

The room was very spacious and clean. The common areas, elevator are a bit run down. Breakfast looked unappealing so we went out to one of the nearby cafes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After having stayed here in January we were looking forward to a return visit in May. Our room this time (207) was a disappointment after having stayed in 401 on our earlier visit. The floor in 207 had a decided list towards the door and the view of the neighbouring wall was a let down- room 401 looked onto the square outside the front of the hotel and was far more interesting.

The staff are friendly and most helpful. Remember if you need a hair dryer to ask for it at the desk before you shampoo!!

The breakfast room is a feast for the eyes, decorated as it would have been when the building was new. We found the breakfast itself a little less satisfying than our earlier visit - less variety and the bread was a little stale.

On the whole, next time in Aix we will likely book here again with a request for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.