We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottimo Hotel ad Aix en Provence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 70 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Padua, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ottimo Hotel ad Aix en Provence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I has the chance to spend two nights at Hotel de France. It is very nice and very confortable. They give us a new room (just restored) on the 3rd floor. The salon where the Guest can have breakfast in the morning is marvelous. Everywhere there is the wi fi service. During my stay some people were working everywhere in the hotel for the maintenance, but only during the day not after 5
Pm. I think they will finish soon this. The location of the hotel is centrally located. I liked this. The small square on which the hotel is situated , during the day and night is always full of people sitting on tables drinking aperitifs.
A very nice place to stay. Rates are a litte bit high, but in Aix en Provence is diffucult to find a 3stars hotel centrally located with budget rates.

Room Tip: Ask rooms in the back not on the square, could be' very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Aix en provence is a beautiful charming town and therefore we wanted a small charming hotel at a reasonable price. We stayed in Hotel de France for 2 nights while they were renovating and it was perfect. We haven't been bothered by the renovations at all. The hotel entrance is not very spectacular but the room is very clean, cosy and charming. The location of the hotel is fantastic and there are even parking spaces around. The receptionists are very kind and very helpfull as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows in the interior garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is good. We had a room with a view overlooking a small plaza. Unfortunately there is a pub below the room and 3 or 4 restaurants in the plaza, all open until late in the evening. Ear plugs are a must since the noise went on till after 2:00 AM (no sound proofing).

The room was very spacious and clean. The common areas, elevator are a bit run down. Breakfast looked unappealing so we went out to one of the nearby cafes.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After having stayed here in January we were looking forward to a return visit in May. Our room this time (207) was a disappointment after having stayed in 401 on our earlier visit. The floor in 207 had a decided list towards the door and the view of the neighbouring wall was a let down- room 401 looked onto the square outside the front of the hotel and was far more interesting.

The staff are friendly and most helpful. Remember if you need a hair dryer to ask for it at the desk before you shampoo!!

The breakfast room is a feast for the eyes, decorated as it would have been when the building was new. We found the breakfast itself a little less satisfying than our earlier visit - less variety and the bread was a little stale.

On the whole, next time in Aix we will likely book here again with a request for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This wonderfully located hotel with clean spacious pleasant rooms and fairly priced lost our "recommend this hotel" because of the following: No cups in the room. No kleenex in the room. Breakfast uninspired and when we went in at 10 AM every table was covered with dirty dishes so we went outside elsewhere. There is no computer available.
speakingout2

Room Tip: view of the street is fun! Noisy, but makes you feel like you are part of the party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMSBURG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de France in January and enjoyed it so much we returned in February. We stayed three nights each time and had two different rooms and each was very charming. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are furnished with large towels and bathrobes as in a luxury hotel. We must mention the friendliness of the staff as everyone was exceptionally helpful. The breakfast served in a charming dining room was more than sufficient and very tasty. The hotel has one of the best locations in town. We will return here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and the hotel is being totally renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bedroom and bathroom very comfortable, spacious and fantastic view as well (room 400).
Really appreciated the location/ sleep quality/ fresh breakfast.
We stayed here for 2 nights, AC was a bit noisy but someone repaired it the following day.
I will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 70 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.