We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 70 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After having stayed here in January we were looking forward to a return visit in May. Our room this time (207) was a disappointment after having stayed in 401 on our earlier visit. The floor in 207 had a decided list towards the door and the view of the neighbouring wall was a let down- room 401 looked onto the square outside the front of the hotel and was far more interesting.

The staff are friendly and most helpful. Remember if you need a hair dryer to ask for it at the desk before you shampoo!!

The breakfast room is a feast for the eyes, decorated as it would have been when the building was new. We found the breakfast itself a little less satisfying than our earlier visit - less variety and the bread was a little stale.

On the whole, next time in Aix we will likely book here again with a request for a room at the front.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This wonderfully located hotel with clean spacious pleasant rooms and fairly priced lost our "recommend this hotel" because of the following: No cups in the room. No kleenex in the room. Breakfast uninspired and when we went in at 10 AM every table was covered with dirty dishes so we went outside elsewhere. There is no computer available.
speakingout2

Room Tip: view of the street is fun! Noisy, but makes you feel like you are part of the party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMSBURG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de France in January and enjoyed it so much we returned in February. We stayed three nights each time and had two different rooms and each was very charming. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are furnished with large towels and bathrobes as in a luxury hotel. We must mention the friendliness of the staff as everyone was exceptionally helpful. The breakfast served in a charming dining room was more than sufficient and very tasty. The hotel has one of the best locations in town. We will return here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and the hotel is being totally renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Bedroom and bathroom very comfortable, spacious and fantastic view as well (room 400).
Really appreciated the location/ sleep quality/ fresh breakfast.
We stayed here for 2 nights, AC was a bit noisy but someone repaired it the following day.
I will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Checked at this hotel unbooked in the centre of Aix overlooking bustly square with lots of restaurants. Hotel managed by three young brothers in a very friendly and relaxed manner.Bedroom and bathroom very comfortable and spacious ,simple and fresh continental breakfast in a charming and elegant room.We will definately be back a bientot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very convient, BUT room was VERY SMALL compared to a room from the group (Ibis etc.)
and no shower very small and no shower curtain, so floor very wet in the very small bathroom.

Advice is stay in private B & B's

Room Tip: No idea of other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Aix. You cannot beat the location. The room was much bigger than expected.
First impression of the outside is that it would be a tad 'shabby', as the building is quite old and basic - but the location and rooms are hard to beat. Very clean and spacious and a relatively new bathroom.
Breakfast room (and in fact the whole hotel) is quite charming, and the continental breakfast that's served was much much better than you'd expect from a 'two-star' hotel!

If you want to be in the thick of things in Aix at a decent price, this is the place. We stayed here for 2 nights, wish we had stayed longer, and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes, so make sure you ask for a large one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 70 hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.