We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas d'Entremont

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mas d'Entremont to your Saves list
Le Mas d'Entremont
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315, RN7 Celony, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the first week in July 2013. This hotel is located 5 minutes (ok, maybe 10 minutes in heavy traffic) from Aix-en-Provance downtown. I choose this hotel based on the TA reviews and on its website, specifically because it looked very french. It didn't disappoint, quite the contrary, it was much better than I expected. I am giving a 5 stars not because this is 5 star hotel, but because it has exceeded my expectations on what it intends to be and on value. The place is beautiful, quiet and has a chateau feeling to it. When we arrived, the room was ready and we were greeted immediately. The check in was fast and eficient. The room was large on European standards and it had a lovely balcony (the room is a little bit dated, or antique, you decide, I didn´t mind because the bed was so comfy). The bathrooms are remodeled and great (but no showers, only a hand shower - I was happy to take baths). I was also very pleased with the hairdryer quality, it actually worked very well (which is rare even in high end hotels). At first I was concerned that our room looked over the restaurant patio because of the noise, but it didn't bother us at all. In fact, it was so quiet we slept in every morning.

Breakfast was 19 euros but it was very nice, with fresh eggs, pasties, fruits, not a huge breakfast but plenty and with great quality. I recommend the breakfast, specially with nice weather, once you can enjoy the patio.

I thought this hotel location was the perfect base to explore Provence, we drove to Avignon, Cassis and Valensole and the roads were great and everything was around 1 hour away. Aix has a very lively night life with tons of restaurants and we had plenty of choices. This hotel was great specially if you have a car because it is a little far from downtown. In the last note, they didn't charge for parking, which is rare (take Negresco for example in Nice, we had to pay 30 euros per day).

Great experience overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
55
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for three nights in two inter-leading rooms that shared a bathroom. The hotel is beautiful and has a big garden. The rooms were very big and spacious and newly renovated. I would recommend that you have a car if you stay there, because it is outside of Aix en no shops within walking distance. I loved staying there. The hotel has a very unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a peaceful, relaxed, beautiful place to stay in Aix-en-Provence! Stayed for 4 nights late June 13. The weather was amazing, but this place is just spectacular. The photos do not do it justice, greenery everywhere, Provincial style buildings & furniture and attentive but discreet staff. We had a 2 bedroom apartment/ suite with a huge bathroom, separate bath & shower. The second bedroom was upstairs in like a loft, had its own tv so great for the kids. Kitchen also so if you want to get some supplies from town for breakfast/snacks then you can do so. Fabulous restaurant on site (closed Sunday dinner & Monday lunch) not cheap but great food & superb wine.
Breakfast (buffet style) is wonderful served in a sunny courtyard area, or inside if you wish.
Lovely pool area, water cold but would be great on a hot summer day.

IMPORTANT NOTE: it is probably best if you hire a car when staying here, especially if your stay is over a Sunday. It is VERY difficult to get a cab in town on a Sunday, or indeed any evening. Just beware as restaurant is closed for Sunday dinner, so you really have no option apart from travelling in to town. City centre is prob a 8-10 min ride, and not possible to walk as situated on a busy highway.

Room Tip: We had apartment/suite #18, at the back of the property, very quiet and a large apartment, suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrenceville, nj
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After visiting in Paris for a week, we stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights. The staff was warm and welcoming. Most spoke English very well. We stayed in one of the apartment units which had a bedroom, a large newly renovated bathroom, a small kitchen and a small bedroom upstairs. It was quite comfortable. The grounds are nice with a pool, tennis court and a restaurant. We enjoyed dinner there on our first night. My only wish was that they were open for dinner on Sunday. The hotel is a 10 min drive to other restaurants and the town only has a handful open -- I felt a bit abandoned. That said, my husband didn't agree.

The grounds are a bit in need of slight TLC, but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Aix. The room itself was pretty run down to be honest. The furnishings and the beds were pretty sad. The ceiling was also very low which made the space a bit claustrophobic. The meals were nice at the restaurant and the room service for our children was fantastic. They had a resident german shepherd who was really sweet as well. It was an easy commute in and out of Aix from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I thought we had died and gone to Heaven...we are both in our 70s ..so it is on the Bucket List that this is the last living quarters we would like to share together. Everything about this beautiful Hotel is fabulous. We could not fault anything...and we are both quite particular about our surroundings, service and hospitality. The restaurant service and food cuisine was amazing. The staff are friendly, helpful and enjoy their guests receiving the best attention and feeling very comfortable and relaxed. We cannot stop talking about this wonderful 4 days we spent in Provence. We wish we had found the Le Mas d'Entremont when we were very young and madly in love as it is so romantic..the gardens, the lovely shaded daytime luncheon setting and softly lit dining room in the evening. Perfect location for a proposal, honeymoon or falling in love again! Not expensive really ...and don't you deserve it? Not suitable for children, not fair for the couples enjoying some time away be it a day or weekend.
Two Senior Lovebirds
Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the beautiful pool, from memory it was 31 . It had its own balcony com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prangins, Switzerland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My rating is a compromise. We both ate and slept at the Mas and I would rate them differently.

We also stayed in room 12 which was described by another guest as dark. That is true, and I would also add that there was just a slightly frayed look about the carpets, mouldings, etc. But what I found exceptionally strange was the use of some sort of textile which covers large expanses of the walls of the room and the ceiling of the bathroom (!). It was some indescribable leathery-silky synthetic which did not assure me as to what might lay behind. I did not have the impression that it was dirty, but it could easily hide any number of evils. I am a firm believer that a good cleaning has to get right down to the natural surface… The mattress was comfortable though, which was appreciated. Overall I would say this is a 3.5 star room.

Where the Mas clearly excels is in the kitchen. We had an excellent meal on the terrace, which was most agreeable. Their home-made fish soup is outstanding, the fish dishes very well prepared. Nothing to fault here and I would give this 4.5 – 5 stars and worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas d'Entremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas d'Entremont

Address: 315, RN7 Celony, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mas d'Entremont 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Mas d'Entremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas d`Entremont Hotel Aix-En-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas d'Entremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.