We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for queues!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bechard

Bechard
12 Cours Mirabeau, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
+33 4 42 26 06 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 609 Restaurants in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $56
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Be prepared for queues!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There is such a wide range of delicacies available from macaroons to eclairs, delicate chocolates to traditional french cakes. The food is delicious and beautifully prepared but be warned you may have to wait a while before being served as this store is as popular with the locals as it is with the tourists and every time we passed by there was a queue protruding from the entrance.

All food must be taken away as there is no seating in the store although there are public benches outside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    19
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“an institution aixoise - definitely incontornable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The best pastries in Aix, from the oldest shop, right on the Cours Mirabeau. Get the Tropezienne - the best in Aix, possibly the best anywhere. Incredible

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pastries, unfortunately terrible service!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had a piece of heaven when I tried one of the pastries from this place. It was a short visit for us at Provence and we stepped into Béchard by accident. The service was terrible, the staffs were rude and impatient. But I will go back again for the pastry and bare with the bad service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Desserts are beautiful as well as delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We've visited here 3 times during our 2 week trip. Occasionally there are lines but multiple servers are waiting to help. My favorite were the vanilla eclairs, so deliciously filled they are heavy to carry. I like how they wrap them up for you like the present it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Pastry shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

One of the oldest & still the best quality.
They stick to a standard. Difficult to find any other that matches, maybe Weibel?
Second best ice cream (after Philipe Faur).
They have a proper hygiene regime which others are still lacking & better quality white flour than the rest. I only wish they would go Organic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bechard also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Bechard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bechard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.