We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for travelers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse to your Saves list
Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Route de Galice, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
San Francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a place for travelers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't go here if you are looking for a hotel experience in Aix. The rooms are clean but spartan. The location is out of town but there is good parking. The staff is friendly enough but it has all the ambience of a hostel.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,

C'est avec grand regret que nous lisons votre avis.
Le centre ville d'aix-en-provence est à 2,5 km.
Nous ne manquerons pas de féliciter le personnel sur place.

Cordialement,
L'Equipe Odalys Vacances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked a 1 studio for 2 people at Odalys les Floridianes in Aix en Provence, 2 months ago.
The room rate was £105 per night which seemed rather expensive for what we actually got!
It is a tiny bedroom which barely fits a double bed with a shower cubicle! I asked reception if we could get a bigger bedroom and the more superior room was only an extra £10. I was then told that most superior rooms were booked and if I wanted to change room for one night only I could but I had to contact Booking.com
I sent them a couple of emails to which I received an automated email, saying that they respond to my request within the next 2 days......which is when I leave Aix en Provence.
In addition I checked online if there are bigger rooms available and there seem to be plenty of 1 bedroom flats available for £75 a night which is £30 less than what I am paying for my tiny room,
So I guess the best thing is to avoid booking in advance and don't use booking.com as their best price guarantee claim obviously is a lie!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable with minimum furnishings. The kitchenette was useful with a large efficient fridge and the hotel remarkably quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. The a/c is efficient whilst the cable tv only has french speaking programs. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel so can't comment. Overall, an adequate low price place to stay on a short visit to Aix.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in mid-March. Lots of parking and the bus stop was close by on the main road and it only took about 10 minutes to get to the historic area.
It was a little hard to find as there was some construction going on at the beginning of the road you turned in on and we were just lucky to spot the sign.
Staff were polite and spoke good English. Our room was large but rather sparsely furnished and basic. The room was cool so had to run the heat all the time we were there.
Appeared to be geared more for the long stay traveller with its
kitchen facilities.
There were no places to eat in the immediate area. Advised to go down to the old historic area for anything decent.
Although there was a no smoking policy the hallways smelled of smoke.
Had a washer and dryer on site which was very handy for us as we were in the middle of a 1 month trip.
Very close to the autoroute for sightseeing in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My and my couple really enjoyed our staying at the apart, we got a pretty big room with a balcony and it's kitchen. The hotel it's not far from the center a couple of minutes walking.
The only inconvenient we found is that our GPS couldn't found the street Galice, because as a matter of fact you reach the hotel from another Street name, please ask before going which is the one you should take going by car in that way you won't have any problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse

Address: 42 Route de Galice, 13090 Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, CityZen, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Aix Le Clos de la Chartreuse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.