We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Sight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagne Sainte Victoire

Montagne Sainte Victoire
Route du Tholonet, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$87*
and up
Private Tour: Marseille and Aix-en-Provence Day...
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Walking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This majestic mountain was the subject of several Paul Cézanne paintings.
Allentown, PA USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Sight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

While my wife and I were staying in a hotel in suburban Aix we could see Mont St. Victoire from our balcony. We sat and sketched it for several hours and as the light changed, the scene became ever more dramatic. Well worth seeing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    69
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful sight to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

On our tour of Aix de Provence we saw this mountain and it was so beautiful and peaceful. I was not familiar with the paintings of Paul Cezanne but now I am and can understand why.

This was the highlight of Aix de Provence for me.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go on a clear day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Once out of the hubbub of Aix en Provence and its suburbs, you can quickly find yourself in areas that are peaceful, quiet and beautiful. The countryside around the mountain is rich farmland, dotted with attractive little villages that captivated the artist Paul Cezanne - and rightly so. I rode here and there in the area, all with the mountain by my shoulder, and I could never stop gawking. A rugged, stunning area of Provence.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I love it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I leave nearby and I love this mountain. It's one of the most magic landscapes in Provence. Totally worth going around it and if you're brave and have few hours, you can easily climb at the top for a nice view of the valley. But probably the best is to see it from the South of Aix-en-Provence

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stunning views in a relatively unspoiled location. Well worth the climb. Small visitors centre with toilets and parking.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montagne Sainte Victoire also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Montagne Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagne Sainte Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.