We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've even tried to climb it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montagne Sainte Victoire

Montagne Sainte Victoire
Route du Tholonet, 13100 Aix-en-Provence, France
Improve this listing
Visit Montagne Sainte Victoire like an insider
Private Tour
$79*
and up
Private Tour: Marseille and Aix-en-Provence Day...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This majestic mountain was the subject of several Paul Cézanne paintings.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I've even tried to climb it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I lived in Aix for a school year as a foreign student, and have returned through the years since. Each time I visit the vicinity of Mont Sainte-Victoire. As a student (age 19) my roommate and I climbed part of it (but lost the path partway up), but in more recent visits we just drive to the vicinity, to stop at a spot Cezanne was known to paint, to have a meal at restaurants with spectacular views of it, and to take pictures of it.
I recommend those who travel by car to make sure to pass through the town of Le Tholonet on the road to the mountain. There is a wonderful arcade created by plain (plane?) trees culminating in a chateau now connected with municipal works that is also a site where concerts are givin during the summer Festival of Music in Aix. Don't hesitate to pull over on the side of the road to take pictures of the mountain. If you decide to hike to the top, don't leave the path!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    76
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice view from mountain top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

When you're in Aix, you should definitely climb the St Victoire! The view is spectacular.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful day hiking Mt St Victoire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved our hike of Mt St Victoire. One note though - when the trails are marked "rather difficult" or "difficult", it is not a joke! We made it up, though, and enjoyed the amazing view from beside the Croix de Provence.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Erratic opening hours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A beautiful drive and stunning views. The perfume of the wildflowers was stunning. The museum and visitor centre has erratic opening hours which change without notice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Couldn't help thinking of Uluru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Crazy, yes. The Montagne st. Victoire changes colour with the light, not that it's red at any time. There's a number of wineries in the area that are worth the visit. The appellation Cotes de Provence - St. Victoire is good value and a very good restaurant wine.

Lots of hikes and interesting local produce to be had too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montagne Sainte Victoire also viewed

Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Aix-en-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Montagne Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montagne Sainte Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.